Gov. Bill Lee Announces Appointments to the Tennessee Complete Count Committee for Census 2020

Wednesday, October 16, 2019 | 01:00pm

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Today, Tennessee Governor Bill Lee announced appointments to the Tennessee Complete Count Committee which will work alongside the U.S. Census Bureau for the 2020 Census.

“I am proud to appoint these leaders and appreciate their willingness to serve our state and nation in this critical undertaking,” said Lee. “We look forward to working together to make sure all Tennesseans are accounted for and our state receives the necessary resources to support our growing population.”

Data from the Census is used to determine distribution of state and federal dollars, as well as apportionment to the U.S. House of Representatives.

The following Tennesseans were appointed to serve on the Tennessee Complete Count Committee: 

·         Jeff Aiken, President, Tennessee Farm Bureau

·         Joseph Butler, Mayor, Carroll County

·         Karen Camper, Tennessee House Minority Leader, 87th District

·         Butch Eley, Chief Operating Officer, Governor’s Office

·         Brandon Gibson, Senior Advisor, Governor’s Office

·         Tre Hargett, Tennessee Secretary of State

·         Clifton Harris, President, Urban League of Middle Tennessee

·         Mike Harrison, Executive Director, Tennessee Association of County Mayors

·         Jack Johnson, Tennessee Senate Majority Leader, 23rd District

·         Mary Kiger, Executive Director, Tennessee Charitable Care Network

·         Mike Krause, Executive Director, Tennessee Higher Education Commission

·         Tim Kuhn, Director, Tennessee State Data Center

·         William Lamberth, Tennessee House Majority Leader, 44th District

·         David Lillard, Tennessee State Treasurer

·         Raul Lopez, Executive Director, Latinos for Tennessee

·         Sen. Becky Massey, 6th District

·         Anna McDonald, Chief of Staff, First Lady’s Office

·         Randy McNally, Lieutenant Governor, 5th District

·         Stuart McWhorter, Commissioner, Tennessee Department of Finance and Administration

·         Margaret Mahery, Executive Director, Tennessee Municipal League

·         Tony Parker, Commissioner, Tennessee Department of Correction

·         Ryan Porter, COO and General Counsel, Jackson Chamber

·         Claude Pressnell, Director, Tennessee Independent Colleges and Universities Association

·         Emily Reynolds, Vice-Chair, Tennessee Board of Regents

·         Beverly Robertson, CEO, Greater Memphis Chamber

·         Cameron Sexton, Speaker of the House, 25th District

·         Jim Shulman, Executive Director, Tennessee Commission on Aging & Disability

·         Rep. Robin Smith, 26th District

·         Rufus Smith, Executive Chairman, Memphis Christian Pastors Network

·         Gloria Sweet-Love, President, Tennessee NAACP

·         David Tomita, Former Mayor, Johnson City

·         Flora Tydings, Chancellor, Tennessee Board of Regents

·         Carol Westlake, Executive Director, Tennessee Disability Coalition

·         Joseph Williams, Director of External Affairs, Governor's Office

·         Marie Williams, Commissioner, Tennessee Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services

·         Justin Wilson, Tennessee State Comptroller

·         Dave Worland, Executive Director, Governor’s Office of Faith-Based and Community Initiatives

·         Jeff Yarbro, Tennessee Senate Minority Leader, 21st District

Households across Tennessee will receive a letter from the U.S. Census Bureau inviting them to respond to the 2020 Census in March 2020. For the first time, residents can choose to respond online, by phone or by mail ahead of the April 1, 2020 deadline. More procedural information regarding the 2020 Census can be found at