Governor Lee, Commissioner Rolfe Announce 62 Communities to Receive Community Development Block Grants

Monday, January 24, 2022 | 01:00pm
  • Grants will assist communities with local infrastructure, housing and safety improvements

NASHVILLE, Tenn.  Tennessee Gov. Bill Lee and Department of Economic and Community Development Commissioner Bob Rolfe recently approved $28.5 million in Community Development Block Grants (CDBG), which will assist communities with infrastructure improvements, housing rehabilitations and health and safety initiatives.  

“Investing in local infrastructure is one of our top priorities, and these funds will play a vital role as communities work to update their assets and keep their communities safe,” said Lee. “These recipients are proactively preparing their communities for future economic opportunities and continued growth.” 

“Community Development Block Grants are an enormous asset to communities across Tennessee,” Rolfe said. “The 62 communities receiving CDBG funding will be better equipped for future economic opportunities, which in turn, will help our state continue to grow and succeed. I congratulate these recipients and look forward to seeing the successes in each community in the years to come.”  

The allocation of CDBG funds is based on priorities set through the public meeting process at the local community level. The CDBG program is funded through HUD and administered in Tennessee by the Department of Economic and Community Development. Funds are available for water and sewer improvements and new extensions, housing rehabilitation and health and safety projects.

Below is a list of the 62 Community Development Block Grants:  

Community  Project   Amount 
Altamont  Water System Improvements  $630,000 
Bethel Springs  Water System Improvements  $313,049 
Bolivar  Sewer System Improvements  $361,000 
Brighton  Drainage Improvements  $326,679 
Brownsville  Sewer System Improvements  $630,000 
Bruceton  Sewer System Improvements  $511,750 
Carroll County  Fire Protection  $371,700 
Carthage  Fire Protection  $296,024
Celina  Sewer System Improvements  $630,000 
Claiborne County  Water Line Extension  $630,000 
Clay County  EMS Improvements  $206,706 
Cookeville  Sewer System Improvements  $580,675 
Decatur  Water System Improvements  $630,000 
Decherd  Emergency Warning System  $130,500 
Ducktown  Water System Improvements  $630,000 
Englewood  Sewer System Improvements  $630,000 
Enville  Housing Rehabilitation  $525,000 
Grand Junction  Sewer System Improvements  $209,760 
Graysville  Fire Protection  $420,000 
Grundy County  Sewer System Improvements  $630,000 
Hardin County  Fire Protection  $290,112 
Harriman  Water System Improvements  $630,000 
Harrogate  Sewer Line Extension  $474,030 
Henderson County  Fire Protection  $288,176 
Huntsville  Sewer System Improvements  $630,000 
Jacksboro  Sewer System Improvements  $630,000 
Jamestown  Sewer System Improvements  $630,000 
Jefferson City  Sewer System Improvements  $629,993 
Jefferson County  EMS Improvements  $420,000 
Johnson County  EMS Improvements  $293,582 
Lauderdale County  Water System Improvements  $547,662 
Lawrence County  Water Line Extension  $630,000 
Lawrenceburg  Street Light Improvements  $268,180 
Lewisburg  Sewer System Improvements  $450,000 
Loudon  Sewer System Improvements  $630,000 
Luttrell  Sewer System Improvements  $524,342 
Mason  Water Line Extension  $431,935 
Meigs County  Water System Improvements  $630,000 
Monroe County  Water Line Extension  $630,000 
Mount Carmel  Water System Improvements  $476,182 
Oakdale  EMS Improvements  $290,535 
Obion County  Sewer System Improvements  $564,000 
Oneida  Water System Improvements  $630,000 
Overton County  Fire Protection  $420,000 
Pulaski  Sewer System Improvements  $630,000 
Putnam County  Fire Protection  $318,750 
Rutherford  Water System Improvements  $276,854 
Saltillo  Emergency Warning System  $112,601 
Savannah  Sewer System Improvements  $600,000 
Sevier County  Water System Improvements  $215,426 
Smith County  Emergency Rescue Improvements  $285,600 
South Carthage  Housing Rehabilitation  $298,100 
Spring City  Sewer System Improvements  $630,000 
Springfield  Sewer System Improvements  $630,000 
Stanton  Sewer System Improvements  $513,188 
Surgoinsville  Water System Improvements  $468,700 
Tipton County  Emergency Rescue Improvements  $355,833 
Tusculum  Fire Protection  $298,075 
Unicoi County  Sewer Line Extension  $377,311 
Van Buren County  EMS Improvements  $341,088 
Vanleer  Water System Improvements  $458,000 
Warren County  Fire Protection  $370,829 


Each application was supported by the community’s senator and representatives in the Tennessee General Assembly. 

About the Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development 

The Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development’s mission is to develop strategies that help make Tennessee the No. 1 location in the Southeast for high quality jobs. To grow and strengthen Tennessee, the department seeks to attract new corporate investment to the state and works with Tennessee companies to facilitate expansion and economic growth. Find us on the web: Follow us on Twitter and Instagram: @tnecd. Like us on Facebook:

TNECD Media Contact
Lindsey Tipton
Public Information Officer
(615) 339-6608