Bolivar, McKenzie and Sevierville Certified as Tennessee Main Street Communities

Wednesday, September 16, 2015 | 10:05am

NASHVILLE—The Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development announced today Bolivar in Hardeman County, McKenzie in Carroll County, and Sevierville in Sevier County have achieved Tennessee Main Street certification. These communities join 28 other Tennessee Main Street communities that are certified through the state’s downtown revitalization program and accredited by the National Main Street Center, an affiliate of the National Trust for Historic Preservation.

“We congratulate these communities for the efforts they are putting into revitalizing their downtown commercial districts,” Economic and Community Development Commissioner Randy Boyd said. “The vitality of the downtown core reflects on the entire community and offers economic opportunity, and we look forward to working with these communities as they continue their hard work.” 

The Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development serves as the statewide coordinating program for the National Main Street Center and provides training and services to Main Street communities.  In 2014, certified Tennessee Main Street communities generated more than $95 million of public/private investment and created 1,565 new jobs. 

“Each of the three newly designated communities has unique assets,” said Tennessee Main Street Program Director Nancy Williams. “But, like the other 28 Tennessee Main Streets, they each have a downtown district that the communities treasure. Although new to Main Street, Bolivar has long been part of Courthouse Square revitalization efforts with outstanding natural and historic resources, and McKenzie is a successful graduate of TNECD’s Tennessee Downtowns program with a plan for their future. Sevierville is widely recognized as one of the retail hubs of East Tennessee, but there is an historic side of Sevierville worthy of preservation.”

National Main Street Center and TNECD staff are conducting Main Street community training in each of the newly designated communities in September.

Main Street designations are based upon successful applications submitted by the cities. The Tennessee Main Street Program application requires communities to illustrate a strong commitment to a Main Street Program from city/county government, an adequate organizational budget, a commitment to hire staff, a strong historic preservation ethic, a collection of historic buildings and a walkable, historic commercial district. 

In addition to Bolivar, McKenzie and Sevierville, the Main Street program communities across Tennessee include Bristol, Brownsville, Cleveland, Collierville, Columbia, Cookeville, Dandridge, Dayton, Dyersburg, Fayetteville, Franklin, Gallatin, Greeneville, Jackson, Jonesborough, Lebanon, Kingsport, Lawrenceburg, McMinnville, Murfreesboro, Morristown, Ripley, Rogersville, Sweetwater, Tiptonville, Savannah, Union City and Winchester.

Tennessee Main Street operates under the National Main Street Center, a program of the National Trust for Historic Preservation. For more information about the Tennessee Main Street Program, please visit For more on the National Main Street Center, visit


About the Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development

Tennessee was named 2014 and 2013 “State of the Year” for economic development by Business Facilities magazine. The Tennessee Department of Economic and Community

Development’s mission is to develop strategies which help make Tennessee the No. 1 location in the Southeast for high quality jobs. The department seeks to attract new corporate investment in Tennessee and works with Tennessee companies to facilitate expansion and economic growth. Find us on the web: Follow us on Twitter: @tnecd.  Like us on Facebook: