On July 23, 2019, the United States District Court for the Middle District of Tennessee ordered that the Tennessee Auctioneer Commission is enjoined and restrained from applying Tennessee’s auctioneering laws and licenses to “electronic” exchanges, or online auction websites. Therefore, all matters, including complaints, concerning electronic or online auctions fall outside of the jurisdiction of the Tennessee Auctioneer Commission. If the status of the Court’s order changes, notice will be posted on this website.
The Tennessee Auctioneer Commission will offer six (6) hours of Continuing Education (CE) at no cost to current licensees in each of the grand divisions as follows:
West TN: Wednesday, June 24, 2020 9:00 a.m. - A Livestream Webinar
The CE Seminars will include “Estate & Financial Planning for Auctioneers” (3 hours) by Aaron Carmack, “Unleashing Your Inner Champion – How to be successful in the auction business and life” (1 hour), and “Inside the World of Equipment Auctions” (2 hours) by Dustin Rogers.
If you have any further questions, you may direct your inquiries to the Nashville Auction School at (931) 393-4735 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Affiliate (formerly known as Apprentice) Auctioneer Upgrade to Principal Auctioneer Notice
TCA 62-19-111(c)(2) requires every apprentice auctioneer to have “served as an affiliate auctioneer under the supervision of a licensed, full-time principal auctioneer for a period of six (6) months”. For those affiliate auctioneers that have 1,000 points under a supervising principal auctioneer, have completed the 50 hours of qualifying education, and have completed the 6-month timeframe requirement, please make sure your license is active prior to applying for an upgrade. If your license is close to expiring, please apply BEFORE expiration or you may be subject to the affiliate renewal fee and additional continuing education in order to remain in good standing for your upgrade.
Bid Caller License
Did you know we offer a new license type? The Bid Caller license is now available.
TCA 62-19-101 (4) “Bid caller auctioneer” means an individual who, for compensation or valuable consideration, or otherwise, is hired by a principal auctioneer, public automobile auction, or public automobile auctioneer to solicit bids for the purchase of goods at an auction.
The license requirements per TCA 62-19-111 (a) are: Complete an application (Core.tn.gov), be at least eighteen (18) years of age and successfully complete sixteen (16) hours of instruction on the basic fundamentals of auctioneering at an auction school accredited by the commission (auction chant instruction is optional and is not to be included in the basic fundamentals of auctioneering, nor may auction chant instruction be completed on-line). If you are a licensed auctioneer in a State with which Tennessee has reciprocity, a letter of good standing may be accepted in lieu of the sixteen (16) hour course.
Created in 1967, The Tennessee Auctioneer Commission licenses affiliate and principal auctioneers.
The Commission also enacts rules addressing professional conduct and standards of practice.
To license and regulate affiliate auctioneers and principal auctioneers.
The mission of the Tennessee Auctioneer Commission is to protect the public through establishment and administration of minimum requirements for candidates and licensees, effective professional education of licensees and enforcement of professional conduct.