AccountancyTennessee State Board of Accountancy
The Tennessee State Board of Accountancy protects the public interest by ensuring that persons professing special competence in accountancy or those offering assurance regarding financial statement presentation have demonstrated their qualifications to do so. The Board's vision is to protect the public, enhance communications with licensees
and proactively respond to the demands of today's changing world.
Renewal applications for firm permits and CPA/PA licenses expiring 12/31/2022 are available beginning 11/2/2022. Familiarize yourself with the renewal requirements for your license. If you have not met the CPE requirements for renewal and are no longer in public practice, you may change the status of your license through your account at core.tn.gov. Requests to close the license or to change to Inactive status should be submitted before the license expiration date. A late fee of $100.00 has been assessed for licenses not renewed during the 30-day grace period following the expiration date.
Licenses not renewed within six (6) months of the expiration date will be subject to reinstatement requirements. If your license has expired due to non-renewal, you may apply for reinstatement online. Applicants for reinstatement of an expired license must earn 80 penalty CPE credits, all in technical fields, within the six months immediately preceding the application. At least two of the CPE credits must be in Tennessee State-Specific Ethics. The fee for reinstatement is $250.00.
Continuing Professional Education renewal requirements include two hours of state-specific ethics approved by the Board. Only approved sponsors may offer this course.
Balance Sheet Newsletter
Need help with an online application?
View these guides to register a new account and apply for a new license.
615-741-2550 | Accountancy.Board@TN.Gov