Tennessee Highway Patrol to Accept Applications for New Trooper Cadet Class
NASHVILLE –- The Tennessee Highway Patrol (THP) announced today it will soon open the application process for a new trooper cadet class slated to begin February 1, 2015. Applications will be accepted online only from Wednesday, July 30 through Tuesday, August 5, 2014.
All applicants must apply online through the Tennessee Department of Human Resources at agency.governmentjobs.com/tennessee beginning Wednesday, July 30. Applications will not be accepted after August 5. Once approved by the Department of Human Resources, applicants will be notified of their qualification status. There is no longer an examination portion to qualify for the State Trooper position.
Individuals interested in applying for the position of state trooper must be at least 21 years old, a U.S. citizen, and have a high school diploma or equivalent. Two years of college or military or previous law enforcement experience is preferred. Applicants with felony convictions will not be considered.
Following the passage of the Tennessee Excellence, Accountability and Management (TEAM) Act, the hiring method for becoming a state trooper has been revised to incorporate an interview process that tests the applicant’s knowledge, skills, abilities and competencies. As a result, selected applicants will be required to successfully pass the physical agility test prior to being admitted for an interview. THP anticipates the agility test and interview appointments to begin September 3, 2014.
If hired, individuals must obtain a valid Tennessee driver license and are required to successfully complete a level II background investigation, which includes a credit check and polygraph test. Recruits must also pass a psychological and medical examination, including a drug screening.
There are currently 884 authorized commissioned officer positions within the THP. Trooper recruits will be assigned to vacant positions across the state upon graduation. The starting salary for a cadet during training is $2,679 per month. Upon graduation and commissioning as a Tennessee state trooper, the salary will increase to $2,965 per month and includes other benefits such as a paid pension plan, low cost health insurance, and paid holidays. Uniforms, equipment and patrol vehicles are also provided by the THP. With regular pay increases, a trooper can earn $52,872 per year after 10 years of service under the current pay structure. Trooper cadet training will last 20 weeks.
For additional information on becoming a Tennessee state trooper, visit the Department of Safety and Homeland Security website at www.tn.gov/safety/thp/school.shtml. For more information about applications and testing, interested individuals are encouraged to contact the Tennessee Department of Human Resources Applicant Services Division at (615) 741-4841.
The Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security’s (www.TN.Gov/safety) mission is to ensure that our state is a safe, secure place in which to live, work and travel; enforce the law with integrity; and provide customer-focused services professionally and efficiently.