Skip to Main Content

Lawrence County Driver Service Center to Merge with Maury County

Thursday, May 02, 2013 | 05:59am

NASHVILLE --- The Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security today announced the Lawrence County Driver Service Center will soon merge with the Maury County Driver Service Center as part of an overall effort to improve effectiveness and efficiency with the state’s driver license services. The Lawrence County Driver Service Center, located at 235 East Gaines Street in Lawrenceburg, will stop serving customers at the close of business on May 15.  After that date, first time drivers or citizens who recently moved to Tennessee will need to visit the Maury County Driver Service Center, located at 1701 Hampshire Pike in Columbia, or one of the other centers in the state. (Driver service centers are also located in Lincoln and Hardin Counties.)

Lawrence County citizens who need to renew an expiring license or replace a lost license may use a new self-service kiosk located at the City of Lawrenceburg Administrative Services Building, 233 West Gaines Street, Lawrenceburg.  The kiosk will process the renewal or replacement, take the driver’s photo, and accept payment with a credit or debit card.

Those citizens renewing who do not need a new photo may do so online at or by mail. 

The department is also working with the Wayne and Giles county clerks to offer license renewal and replacement services in those counties. Those partnerships are expected to start in the near future.

“Merging certain centers is part of our customer focused government plan.  By assessing the needs of those who need first time licenses and those who need renewals, our plan is to enhance customer service and reduce customer wait times. The facility in Maury County has adequate space to absorb the staff from Lawrenceburg, and the merger will better equip us to service the citizens of both Lawrence and Maury Counties,” Commissioner Bill Gibbons said.

The Maury County Driver Service Center is open Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. (CDT). The facility is a full-service center, offering driver license and identification card issuance, motor vehicle records, vision testing, knowledge and skills testing, and handgun permits.

The Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security’s (www.TN.Gov/safety) mission is to ensure that our state is a safe, secure place in which to live, work and travel; enforce the law with integrity; and provide customer-focused services professionally and efficiently.  


Safety & Homeland Security | Press Releases