Skip to Main Content

Department of Safety & Homeland Security Foundation Created to Support Department, Public Safety Efforts

Monday, February 11, 2013 | 09:41am
NASHVILLE --- Commissioner Bill Gibbons announced today the formation of the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security Foundation. The General Assembly last year passed legislation authorizing the department to enter into a partnership with the independent, non-profit organization to help further the mission of the department.The Foundation’s charter states it will seek public and private funds to support the goals and objectives of the department, including law enforcement, safety education, motorist services, disaster preparedness and prevention, and marketing opportunities.

The Foundation is governed by a board of 23 directors from across Tennessee who met in January in Nashville.  The board selected its executive officers at the initial meeting.  The officers include:

  • Mr. Scott Niswonger, President/Chairman,
    Founder, Landair Transport, Inc., Greeneville
  • Mr. Fred Dettwiller, VP Middle Tennessee,
    President, DET Distributing, Co., Nashville
  • Mr. Kurt Faires, VP East Tennessee,
    Attorney, Chambliss, Bahner & Stophel, P.C., Chattanooga
  • Mr. Jim Rout, VP West Tennessee,
    CEO, Bank Tennessee, Collierville
  • Ms. Carole West, Treasurer,
    Community Volunteer, Memphis
  • Mr. Evan Cope, Secretary,
    Attorney, Cope, Hudson, Reed & McCreary, PLLC, Murfreesboro

The board plans to meet quarterly in Nashville to conduct Foundation business. The Foundation requires the department to apply for funding for projects, programs, or equipment to support its mission. The board of directors has the discretion to approve or deny any requests for funding.

Additional board members include:

  • Mr. Billy Atkins,
    President/CEO, Legends Bank, Clarksville
  • Mr. John Barker,
    Owner, Two Rivers Ford, Mt. Juliet
  • Mr. Mitch Cox,
    Founder/CEO, Mitch Cox Companies, Johnson City
  • Mr. Fred Culbreath,
    Retired, Hendersonville
  • Mr. Charles Mann,
    Founder, COM Investment, L.L.C., Santa Fe
  • Mr. Tommy Marvin,
    Owner, Taylor Funeral Home, Inc., Dickson
  • Mr. Rob McCabe,
    Chairman, Pinnacle Financial Partners, Nashville
  • Mr. Gerald Nicely,
    Former Commissioner, Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security and Tennessee Department of Transportation, Nashville
  • Mr. Chris Price,
    Marketing Director, Landers Auto Group and Ritchey Automotive
    CEO, Price Media Companies, Millington
  • Mr. K. Newton Raff,
    Retired Chairman/CEO, First Tennessee Bank, Johnson City
  • Mr. Marty Regan,
    Attorney, Thomason, Hendrix, Harvey, Johnson, & Mitchell, Memphis
  • Mr. Nate Schott, D.D.S.,
    CEO, Murfreesboro Dental Excellence
    Owner/CEO, Dr. Nate’s Naturals, Murfreesboro
  • Mr. Robert T. Summers,
    President, Summers-Taylor, Inc., Elizabethton
  • Mr. Gary Taylor,
    Founder, Gary A. Taylor Investment Company, Jackson
  • Mr. Howard Wall,
    Agent, Coldwell Banker Snow & Wall, Murfreesboro
  • Mr. Tommy Whittaker,
    President/CEO, The Farmers Bank, Portland
  • Mr. Bill Wilson,
    Owner, DBS Marketing, Millington

“As part of our top to bottom review of the department, we determined that we needed a stronger partnership with the private sector. Many law enforcement agencies have developed such strong partnerships through creation of private foundations, ranging from the NYPD in New York City to various law enforcement agencies here in Tennessee.  We believe this is a great opportunity to advance the department’s mission,” Commissioner Gibbons said.

The Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security’s (www.TN.Gov/safety) mission is to ensure that our state is a safe, secure place in which to live, work and travel; enforce the law with integrity; and provide customer-focused services professionally and efficiently. The department encompasses the Tennessee Highway Patrol, Office of Homeland Security and Driver License Services. 


Safety & Homeland Security | Press Releases