Skip to Main Content

Tennessee Highway Patrol Provides Security for Presidential Inauguration

Thursday, January 24, 2013 | 04:23am

NASHVILLE --- Forty members of the Tennessee Highway Patrol returned to the state on Wednesday after assisting the District of Columbia Metropolitan Police Department (MPD) during the 57th Inauguration of the President of the United States. As part of a joint operation, the THP helped provide security during the inauguration events with 90 local and state law enforcement agencies, as well as federal authorities and military personnel. 

The Tennessee Highway Patrol contingent traveled to the nation’s capital in patrol units and arrived on Saturday night. On Sunday, State Troopers were briefed and sworn-in as deputies of the U.S. Marshal Service in order to have law enforcement authority in D.C. They were then assigned to the Walter E. Washington Convention Center, where they provided perimeter security for one of several Inaugural Balls the following day. The assignment concluded at approximately 2 a.m. on Tuesday.

During Monday’s 16-hour assignment, there was one incident that resulted in an arrest by a Tennessee State Trooper. Sergeant Brandon Douglas, assigned to the Commercial Vehicle Administrative Division, apprehended a suspect for allegedly attempting to steal a lady’s purse.

“We were honored to participate and represent Tennessee in an event of such national importance,” Colonel Tracy Trott said. “It was an enormous responsibility. However, the 40 troopers who were selected for this opportunity deserved it, and proved they were up to the task.”

The THP also assisted with security efforts for the 56th Presidential Inauguration in January 2009.

All expenses for the inaugural detail, including the troopers' salaries, travel, meals, and lodging, will be reimbursed to the department by Metropolitan Police. 

A complete list of the Tennessee State Troopers assigned to the Presidential Inauguration detail accompanies this release.

Service photos are available upon request.

The Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security’s (www.TN.Gov/safety) mission is to ensure the safety and general welfare of the public.  The department encompasses the Tennessee Highway Patrol, the Office of Homeland Security and Driver License Services. General areas of responsibility include law enforcement, safety education, motorist services and terrorism prevention.   

Tennessee State Troopers Assigned to 57th Presidential Inauguration Security Detail

Major Danny Talley, Administration

Captain Lee Chaffin, Administration

Sergeant Jeremy Austin, Administration

Sergeant Brandon Douglas, Administration

Trooper Allen England, Administration

Trooper Wesley Stafford, Administration

Trooper William Gregory, III, Administration

Lieutenant Michael Melhorn, Knoxville District

Sergeant Carey Hixson, Knoxville District

Trooper Michael Turley, Knoxville District

Trooper Philip   Warren, Knoxville District

Trooper Cecil    Harvey, Chattanooga District

Trooper Charles McVey, Chattanooga District

Trooper Kristopher Roberts, Chattanooga District

Trooper Travis Ryans, Chattanooga District

Lieutenant Robert Nicholson, Nashville District

Trooper Chad Bilbrey, Nashville District

Trooper Curley Jackson, Nashville District

Trooper William Matsunaga, Nashville District

Trooper Vincent Turocy, Nashville District

Trooper Robert Clemmons, Memphis District

Trooper Guinn Hall, Memphis District

Trooper Brian Pulley, Memphis District

Trooper Joe Terry, Memphis District

Trooper Jason Andes, Fall Branch District

Trooper Bobby Bullington, Fall Branch District

Trooper Jeffrey Coffey, Fall Branch District

Trooper Nathan Hall, Fall Branch District

Trooper Willie Allison, Cookeville District

Trooper Kendall Grasty, Cookeville District

Trooper Eric McCormick, Cookeville District

Trooper Jeremy Newcome, Cookeville District

Sergeant Carl Nutt, Lawrenceburg District

Trooper Charles Dixon, Lawrenceburg District

Trooper Joshua Potts, Lawrenceburg District

Trooper Adam   Smith, Lawrenceburg District

Trooper Phillip Clark, Jackson District

Trooper Kennie Lamberth, Jackson District

Trooper Jason Mounts, Jackson District

Trooper Ollie Parker, Jackson District

Safety & Homeland Security | Press Releases