Skip to Main Content

Tennessee Names 2011-12 Exemplary School Districts

Monday, July 30, 2012 | 06:38am

SEVIERVILLE – The Tennessee Department of Education today recognized school districts across the state that significantly improved student performance and narrowed achievement gaps under Tennessee’s new accountability system.

At an event in Sevier County, Education Commissioner Kevin Huffman announced the 21 districts that earned Exemplary designations for the 2011-12 school year:
          Blount County Schools
          Claiborne County Schools
          Fayette County Schools        
          Fayetteville City Schools
          Franklin Special School District
          Henry County Schools
          Hollow Rock-Bruceton School District
          Loudon County Schools
          Marshall County Schools
          McKenzie Special School District
          Milan Special School District
          Newport City Schools
          Rogersville City Schools
          Rutherford County Schools
          Sequatchie County Schools
          Sevier County Schools
          Smith County Schools
          South Carroll Special School District
          Sweetwater City Schools
          Trousdale County Schools
          Union City Schools
These districts raised proficiency levels on the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program tests; made substantial progress in closing gaps between groups of students; and ensured improvement for racial minorities, as well as students with disabilities, limited English proficiency and those from economically disadvantaged backgrounds.
“Growing results while closing achievement gaps is incredibly hard work,” said Tennessee Education Commissioner Kevin Huffman. “We’re excited with the overall results across the state, and we particularly want to highlight those districts that have excelled in both areas.”
A district-by-district look at Tennessee’s growth on this year’s TCAP can be found here.
Tennessee’s new accountability system replaces No Child Left Behind’s Annual Yearly Progress measures. Rather than expecting all districts to meet the same benchmarks year after year, the new system acknowledges that districts are starting from different places and rewards those that show the most growth.
The system, adopted after Tennessee secured a waiver from part of NCLB earlier this year, looks to districts to increase achievement levels for all students and reduce achievement gaps that exist between certain groups.
In 2011-12, nearly every district in the state grew student achievement overall, but many did not successfully narrow achievement gaps or saw declines among particular student subgroups.
Districts that did not reach a majority of their achievement goals and did not significantly narrow a majority of achievement gaps are labeled as In Need of Improvement. These districts will meet in-person with department officials to set an aggressive, effective plan to meet the goals they missed last year.
Some districts met most of their goals in achievement, gap closure or even both, but saw declines among particular groups of students. These districts are In Need of Subgroup Improvement. Because the state strives to raise standards for all students, the districts labeled as In Need of Subgroup Improvement will focus efforts on addressing the declines among particular groups, such as students with disabilities.
Directors and data specialists at the Tennessee’s eight Centers Of Regional Excellence, or COREs, will support all districts in their plans to continue and expand improvement in the coming year, including fostering relationships between districts so they may learn from each other’s strengths.
A complete list of districts designated as: Exemplary, In Need of Improvement and In Need of Subgroup Improvement can be found on the department website.
For more information, contact Kelli Gauthier at (615) 532-7817 or

Education | Press Releases