Skip to Main Content

Chief Mark Foulks Appointed to Homeland Security Council

Wednesday, June 13, 2012 | 06:15am

NASHVILLE --- Greeneville Fire Chief Mark Foulks has been appointed to the state’s Homeland Security Council by Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam. The Council was created by Executive Order 8 to work with the Office of Homeland Security in planning and directing statewide homeland security activities and to interact with federal and local officials in promoting homeland security.

Since September 2006, Foulks has served as fire chief in Greeneville, Tenn. During his tenure, he restored the multi-agency, county-wide hazardous materials team to operational capabilities. Foulks is also a member of the Chemical, Biological, Radiological, Nuclear and High Explosives (CBRNE) committee for District 1 Homeland Security and is a District Coordinator for the Tennessee Fire Service Mutual Aid System.

The 22-year veteran of the fire service began his career with the Knoxville Fire Department, where he was promoted to Assistant Chief. Foulks led the effort for the Knoxville Fire Department’s accreditation as Tennessee Emergency Management Agency (TEMA) Level II Hazardous Materials Team. He was also Division Chief of the agency’s Special Operations Division, including Emergency Medical Services (EMS), Hazardous Materials Response and Technical Rescue.
Chief Foulks was twice deployed to New Orleans following Hurricane Katrina through the International Association of Fire Chiefs and was a key leader after the city of Knoxville received more than 300 evacuees. In 2008, Chief Foulks received commendation from Tennessee Gov. Phil Bredesen for his service, expertise and participation in Tennessee’s Homeland Security District 1.
“I want to commend Chief Foulks for his willingness to serve the state on this important council,” Haslam said. “Public safety is one of the highest priorities of state government. Chief Foulks brings a wealth of experience and will be a valuable addition to the Homeland Security Council.”
The Council is composed of 23 members representing state and municipal officials, law enforcement and other stakeholders. Six local government representatives are appointed by the Governor. The Council was formed in 2003.


The Tennessee Department of Safety’s (www.TN.Gov/safety) mission is to ensure the safety and general welfare of the public. The department encompasses the Tennessee Highway Patrol, Office of Homeland Security and Driver License Services. General areas of responsibility include law enforcement, safety education, motorist services and terrorism prevention.

Safety & Homeland Security | Press Releases