Skip to Main Content

Merging of Lawrence County Driver Service Center Postponed

Thursday, December 27, 2012 | 07:57am

NASHVILLE --- The Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security today announced the postponement of merging the Lawrence County Driver Service Center with the Maury County Driver Service Center as previously announced in November.  The merger was to take place on January 2 as part of an overall effort to improve effectiveness and efficiency with the state’s driver license services.

Commissioner Bill Gibbons said the department plans to keep the driver service center located at 235 East Gaines Street in Lawrenceburg temporarily open until other options for services are finalized. The department is working with the landlord of the property to extend the lease, which is set to expire on December 31.

“It has always been our goal to provide more and better services to the citizens of Lawrence County and surrounding counties. Keeping the center in Lawrenceburg open temporarily will allow us to get other services in place prior to a merger with the Columbia center,” Gibbons said.

Plans call for the county clerks in Giles and Wayne Counties to begin handling driver license renewals and replacements in early 2013.  The department is also planning to locate a stand-alone driver services kiosk in Lawrence County in 2013.

The Lawrence County Driver Service Center is open Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. (CDT).

All driver service centers will be closed on December 31, 2012 and January 1, 2013 in observance of New Year’s Day.

The Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security’s mission is (www.TN.Gov/safety) to ensure the safety and general welfare of the public.  The department encompasses the Tennessee Highway Patrol, Office of Homeland Security and Driver License Services. General areas of responsibility include law enforcement, safety education, motorist services and terrorism prevention.  


Safety & Homeland Security | Press Releases