Skip to Main Content

Find COVID-19 Information and Resources

Driver License Service Centers Change Hours

Sunday, April 08, 2007 | 07:00pm

NASHVILLE, Tenn., — The Tennessee Department of Safety is announcing service hour changes for its Driver License Service Centers in Memphis and surrounding counties.  The hours are being adjusted to offer customers more options.

Safety Commissioner Dave Mitchell says, “Customer service is our top priority at Driver License Service Centers across the state.  And remember, you don’t have to get your license in the county where you live.  Tennesseans can obtain or renew licenses in any county where a service center is located.”

Driver License Director Wanda Moore says, “There are more ways to get driver license services than coming to a station.  The Driver Services Centers are rearranging their hours to make services more accessible to more people.  Hours will change at many stations.  We encourage our customers to go as early in the day to our stations as possible.  This will help ensure a shorter wait time.”

Many people can renew their licenses or get duplicates for lost licenses online.  People who need to take road tests can make appointments for those tests online too, and this ensures you that an examiner will be ready to give that test at a specific time.  The department’s Online Services Home page is located at:  http://state.tn.us/safety/onlineservices.htm.

Effective Monday, April 9, hours for Shelby County Service Centers will change:
  • Summer Avenue
    6340 Summer Avenue
    Memphis
    Monday, 8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
    Tuesday-Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
  • Whitehaven
    3200 E. Shelby Ave.
    Memphis
    Monday, 8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
    Tuesday-Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
  • Hickory Ridge Mall
    6075 Winchester Road, Suite 525
    Memphis
    Monday, 8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
    Tuesday-Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
  • Millington
    5019 W. Union Rd.
    Millington
    Monday, 8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
    Tuesday-Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
  • Midtown
    2714 Union Extended
    Memphis
    Monday, 8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
    Tuesday-Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Hours in the other Driver License Service Centers in District 4 are either expanding or remain the same:

  • Tipton County
    220 Highway 51-North, Suite 1
    Covington
    Tuesday - Friday, 7:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
  • Hardeman County
    200 Harris Street
    Whiteville
    Tuesday - Friday, 7:00 a.m.- 5:30 p.m.
  • Dyer County
    361 James H. Rice Rd.
    Dyersburg
    Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
  • Fayette County
    7027 Highway 64 West
    Oakland
    Tuesday - Friday, 7:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
  • Obion County
    1420 South First Street
    Union City
    Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

The Tennessee Department of Safety (www.tennessee.gov/safety) is responsible for ensuring the safety and general welfare of the traveling public.  The department’s general areas of responsibility include law enforcement, safety education and motorist services including the issuance of driver licenses.  The department and its highly trained staff of Troopers are responsible for safety on more than 15,000 miles of state and federal highways.

Press Releases | Safety & Homeland Security