Skip to Main Content

TDOT Announces Aeronautics Grants for Seven Tennessee Airports

Thursday, May 16, 2013 | 04:14am

NASHVILLE— The Tennessee Department of Transportation (TDOT) announced today that state aeronautics grants totaling $316,650 have been approved for seven Tennessee airports.

Airports receiving grants include:

Clarksville (Montgomery County) – Outlaw Field

Lebanon (Wilson County) – Lebanon Municipal Airport
Knoxville (Knox County) – McGhee Tyson Airport

Smyrna (Rutherford County) – Smyrna Airport
Lafayette (Macon County) – Lafayette Municipal Airport

Tullahoma (Coffee County) – Tullahoma Regional Airport
Waverly (Humphreys County) – Humphreys County Airport

For more details on each of these grants visit:

The grants are made available through the Tennessee Department of Transportation’s Aeronautics Division.
The Division administers federal and state funding to assist in the location, design, construction and maintenance of Tennessee's diverse public aviation system.

Except for routine expenditures, grant applications are reviewed by the Tennessee Aeronautics Commission (TAC), which is a five member board charged with policy planning and with regulating changes in the state Airport System Plan. The board carefully reviews all applications for grants to ensure that the proper state and local matching funds are in place and that the grants will be used for needed improvements.

The TDOT Aeronautics Division has the responsibility of inspecting and licensing the state’s 142 heliports and 79 public/general aviation airports.  The Division also provides aircraft and related services for state government and staffing for the Tennessee Aeronautics Commission.


Transportation | Press Releases