Skip to Main Content

State Fire Marshal honors Fire Prevention poster contest winners

Thursday, February 28, 2013 | 06:12am

NASHVILLE, TN – In the State Fire Marshal’s annual banquet to honor winners of the Fire Prevention Division’s youth poster contest, youths from kindergarten to the 12th grade were praised for using creativity and skill to encourage their communities to be more fire-safe.  

State Fire Marshal and Department of Commerce & Insurance Commissioner Julie Mix McPeak addressed the adults attending the banquet Sunday before the young winners came forward to receive their certificates and savings bonds: “Think about one of the roles of a parent and a grown-up – it is our job to make sure our children understand to respect and avoid the things that could harm or endanger them. This poster contest goes beyond that goal by getting our children to think of ways to warn their families about fire hazards in the home.” 
“It is evident that the young people whose work is arrayed here today gave a lot of thought to this year’s contest theme on home-escape plans – ‘Have Two Ways Out’ – and its importance,” McPeak said, “as well as to finding creative techniques to share that message.”
The winners were: 
Kindergarten Winner
Peyton Griffin
White Bluff Elementary School
Sponsored by:
Claylick Fire Department
First-Grade Winner
MacCade Pratt
Rock Creek Elementary
Sponsored by:
Estill Springs Volunteer Fire Dept
Second-Grade Winner
Bryson Bilbrey
York Elementary
Sponsored by:
Fentress Co. Fire Department
Third-Grade Winner
Hayden Shirley
Holice Powell Elementary
Sponsored by:
Dyer County Fire Department
Fourth-Grade Winner
Harley McNeal
Covington Integrated Arts Academy
Sponsored by:
Covington Fire Department
Fifth-Grade Winner
Connor Tacker
Tara Oaks Elementary
Sponsored by:
Collierville Fire & Rescue
Sixth-Grade Winner
Katie Mae Talley
Dickson Middle School
Sponsored by:
Dickson Fire Department
Seventh-Grade Winner
Mackenzie McNeal
Crestview Middle School
Sponsored by:
Covington Fire Department
Eighth-Grade Winner
Ryan Stark
Bon Lin Middle School
Sponsored by: 
Bartlett Fire Department
Ninth-Grade Winner
Courtney Tipton 
Sponsored by:
Collierville Fire & Rescue
St. George's Independent School
10th-Grade Winner
Ivy Edwards
Collierville High School
Sponsored by:
Collierville Fire & Rescue
11th-Grade Winner
Justine Poulin
Alcoa High School
Sponsored by:
Alcoa Fire Department
12th-Grade Winner
Dana Ortega
Boyd-Buchanan School
Sponsored by:
Chattanooga Fire Department
Each year, the State Fire Marshal’s Office helps educate children about fire safety while providing them the opportunity to shine. The annual fire safety poster contest – open to students from kindergarten through the 12th grade – draws some truly impressive artistic submissions in the fall. A few months later, participants are honored at a luncheon led by McPeak and her staff in the Fire Prevention Division. 
McPeak also selected Jessie Prince, a fifth-grader from Decherd Elementary School and sponsored by the Decherd Fire Department, for her Commissioner’s Choice award. The Fire Educator of the Year Award went to the Gallatin Fire Department Fire Safety Clown Troop: P.J. Bradford, Matt Stringer, Matt Robison, Dustin Dunn, Mark Hall, Rick Donely and Johnny Smith
Fire Prevention received 278 poster entries this year from 102 different schools. Last year, 238 posters were received from 82 different schools. The program itself also has grown: Initially, the judging was carried out by employees. For the past two years, the contest has garnered judging from outside experts. This year, the judges were Andrea Steele of the Renaissance Center (and formerly of the Frist Center for Visual Arts); Justin Makemson of Belmont University’s Art Department; and Philip Kreger, who is the director of exhibits at the State Museum.
The Department of Commerce and Insurance  works to protect consumers while ensuring fair competition for industries and professionals who do business in Tennessee., @TNCommerceInsur (Twitter), (Facebook), (YouTube) 

Commerce & Insurance | Press Releases