Skip to Main Content

TDOT Announces Aeronautics Grants for Eight Tennessee Airports

Friday, January 18, 2013 | 05:42am

NASHVILLE— The Tennessee Department of Transportation (TDOT) announced today that state aeronautics grants totaling $446,436 have been approved for eight Tennessee airports.

Airports receiving grants include:

Elizabethton (Carter County) – Elizabethton Municipal Airport Knoxville (Knox County) – McGhee Tyson Airport
Halls (Lauderdale County) – Arnold Field Lebanon (Wilson County) – Lebanon Municipal Airport
Jasper (Marion County) – Brown Field Oneida (Scott County) – Scott County Municipal Airport
Rockwood (Roane County) – Rockwood Municipal Airport Tullahoma (Coffee County) – Tullahoma Municipal Airport

For more details on each of these grants visit:

The grants are made available through the Tennessee Department of Transportation’s Aeronautics Division.
The Division administers federal and state funding to assist in the location, design, construction and maintenance of Tennessee's diverse public aviation system.

Except for routine expenditures, grant applications are reviewed by the Tennessee Aeronautics Commission (TAC), which is a five member board charged with policy planning and with regulating changes in the state Airport System Plan. The board carefully reviews all applications for grants to ensure that the proper state and local matching funds are in place and that the grants will be used for needed improvements.

The TDOT Aeronautics Division has the responsibility of inspecting and licensing the state’s 126 heliports and 75 public/general aviation airports.  The Division also provides aircraft and related services for state government and staffing for the Tennessee Aeronautics Commission.


Transportation | Press Releases