Six Tennessee Sites Added to the National Register of Historic Places
NASHVILLE – The Tennessee Historical Commission has announced six Tennessee sites have been added to the National Register of Historic Places. The National Register of Historic Places is the nation’s official list of cultural resources worthy of preservation. It is part of a nationwide program that coordinates and supports efforts to identify, evaluate and protect historic resources. The Tennessee Historical Commission administers the program in Tennessee.
“The National Register recognizes time-honored places that make Tennessee a unique and wonderful state,” said Patrick McIntyre, executive director of the Tennessee Historical Commission. “These recent listings highlight some diverse landmarks – from RCA Studio B, where Elvis and many others recorded to Ayres Hall, the iconic centerpiece of the University of Tennessee.”
Sites recently added to the National Register of Historic Places include:
- American Legion Bohannon Post #4 – Livingston’s American Legion Post #4 was established in 1922 and moved into this Quonset hut in 1949. Quonset huts were lightweight, prefabricated metal buildings that could be shipped and erected quickly and used extensively during World War II. The American Legion building is larger than most Quonset huts and is called a utility building or elephant hut. Soon after it was erected in Livingston, the brick and glass front was added. The large, open interior space has been used as a community meeting venue, dance hall, library, voting precinct and veteran’s service office. Still owned by the American Legion Bohannon Post #4, the building was used to serve local veterans and continues to be used by the community.
- Ayres Hall – Grant C. Miller of Chicago designed this iconic building on the University of Tennessee’s Knoxville campus. Situated on The Hill, the multi-story Collegiate Gothic style building was completed in 1921 and underwent extensive renovations from 2008 to 2010. Ayres Hall features masonry construction, arched windows and doors, bas relief décor, buttresses, traceried windows, crenellated roof parapets, and paneled and coffered woodwork. The building is named for Dr. Brown Ayres, the 12th president of the university. Ayres Hall was constructed as the university was expanding and developing new programs and reflects the academic ideals of the university. Along with Morgan Hall on the university’s agricultural campus, Ayres Hall is one of the first buildings built at UT-Knoxville in the Collegiate Gothic style.
- General Lawrence D. Tyson House – George F. Barber, a nationally known architect based in Knoxville, remodeled an 1895 house for the Tyson family in 1909. The resulting style he called “Colonial Classic” is highlighted by two-story Corinthian columns, multi-paned and arched windows, a porte cochere, dentil trim and elaborate molded woodwork. The architecturally significant house was the home of General Tyson from1909 until his death in 1929. He was an important individual in the areas of military, politics and government. Tyson was the military commandant of the University of Tennessee, where he revamped the military science program of the school; he later served in the Spanish American War and World War I. He received a law degree in 1894, became involved in the city’s business and industry, and was a state legislator from 1903-1905. The University of Tennessee purchased the house in 1954 and it is now known as Tyson Alumni House.
- Mollie and Neel Glenn House – Located in Springfield and known as the Glenn Memorial Woman’s Clubhouse since 1946, the Mollie and Neel Glenn House is a fine example of an early 20th century residence that combines several styles of architecture. The two-story brick veneer house is embellished with details from the Classical Revival, Italianate, Craftsman and Art Noveau styles. Palladian windows, large cast iron Scamozzi porch columns and extensive decorative interior woodwork, including detailed mantels, are key architectural features of the house. In addition to its importance in architecture, the house was Robertson County’s first public library from 1946 to 1962. Since 1946 it has served as the home of the Springfield Federation of Women, a federated women’s organization comprised of eight local women’s groups.
- National Cotton Council Building – Memphis architect Anker Hansen designed the Neo-colonial two- story brick veneer office building of the National Cotton Council in 1955. Located on North Parkway in Memphis, the building housed the National Cotton Council for many years. The organization was at the height of its power when located in this building. The Council worked diligently with the U.S. Department of Agriculture to promote federal legislation favorable to the cotton industry. An important accomplishment was the passage of the 1966 Research and Promotion Act, which resulted in more research and promotion of cotton and cotton products. Using the preservation tax incentives, the building is being rehabilitated and will be used for student housing.
- RCA Studio B – Located on Nashville’s Music Row, the RCA Studio B is nationally important for its influence in performing arts and entertainment. RCA moved its Nashville studio to this building in 1957 and continually operated there until 1977. Known as the place where artists like Elvis Presley, Willie Nelson, Dottie West and many others recorded, it is also the home of the pop-influenced Nashville Sound. RCA executives Steve Sholes and Chet Atkins, and Decca producer Owen Bradley, promoted the sound that changed the face of country music and expanded its popularity. Chet Atkins was associated with RCA Studio B for 16 years and the studio represents his most productive years as an entertainer and producer. The Mike Curb Family Foundation bought the studio in 2001 and leases it to the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum®.
Links to each of the completed nomination forms can be found in the site descriptions listed above. For more information about the National Register of Historic Places or the Tennessee Historical Commission, please visit the website at www.tnhistoricalcommission.org.