Skip to Main Content

Tennessee Names 2012-13 Principal of the Year, Supervisor of the Year Finalists

Friday, July 27, 2012 | 07:21am

NASHVILLE – The Tennessee Department of Education has announced regional finalists for the annual Principal of the Year and Supervisor of the Year awards.

These nine principals, chosen from among more than 1,700 across the state, as well as the nine supervisors, each with years of experience in Tennessee Education, were nominated by their peers for the state-level honors, which recognize administrators who have improved education for Tennessee students through their leadership.
“Principals and supervisors work to create better environments for teaching and learning in our schools,” said Education Commissioner Kevin Huffman. “This year’s nominees share the department’s commitment to raising standards for students and have lived out that goal with their innovative programs and strong visions.”
Principal of the Year regional finalists for 2012-13:
First Tennessee: Jeff Moorhouse, Morristown West High School, Hamblen County Schools
East Tennessee: Tom Brown, Holston Middle School, Knox County Schools
Southeast: Carol Goss, Tyner Academy, Hamilton County Schools
Upper Cumberland: Brad Schreiner, Merrol Hyde Magnet School, Sumner County Schools
South Central: Sandy Schultz, Broadview Elementary School, Franklin County Schools
Mid Cumberland: Jane Winter, Minglewood Elementary School, Clarksville/Montgomery County Schools
Northwest: Donald Ray High, Sharon School, Weakley County Schools
Southwest: Lori Leasure, Pin Oak Elementary School, Henderson County Schools
Memphis/Shelby: Frederick Malone, Bellevue Middle School, Memphis City Schools
Supervisor of the Year regional finalists for 2012-13:
First Tennessee: Reba Bailey, Hawkins County Schools 
East Tennessee: Alisa Teffeteller, Blount County Schools
Southeast: Jill Swafford, Polk County Schools
Upper Cumberland: Bobby Cox, Warren County Schools
South Central: Betty Farrar, Bedford County Schools
Mid Cumberland: Angela Rohen, Wilson County Schools
Northwest: Norma Gerrell, Paris Special School District
Southwest: Donna King, Hardin County Schools
Memphis/Shelby: Margaret Gilmore, Shelby County Schools
Candidates for these awards are nominated by regional study councils of principals and supervisors. Winners will be announced at the annual Tennessee Educational LEADership Conference in October. The Niswonger Foundation, based in Greeneville, will sponsor this year’s awards.
The 2011-12 Principal of the Year is Rita White, of Riverwood Elementary School in Memphis City Schools. The 2011-12 Supervisor of the Year is B.J. Worthington, of Clarksville-Montgomery County Schools.
For more information, contact Kelli Gauthier at (615) 532-7817 or

Education | Press Releases