Skip to Main Content

Tennessee Historical Commission Announces June Meeting

Thursday, June 07, 2012 | 09:34am

Collierville Meeting on June 15 is Open to the Public

NASHVILLE – The Tennessee Historical Commission announced today its regular meeting of the Commission members is scheduled for Friday, June 15, at the Morton Museum of Collierville History, located at 196 North Main Street in Collierville, Tenn.   The meeting will begin at 9 a.m. 

Open to the public, the meeting is one of three yearly gatherings of the Tennessee Historical Commission.  The meetings typically rotate between the state’s three Grand Divisions.  The June 15 meeting will serve as the first time the Commission has met in Collierville.

“We encourage members of the public to attend the meeting, as it is a great opportunity to learn more about the exciting work of our office and the important historical programs we administer, including the Tennessee Wars Commission and state-owned historic sites,” said Patrick McIntyre, executive director of the Tennessee Historical Commission.  

On Thursday, June 14, Commission members will tour La Grange, a town east of Collierville that is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

As the State Historic Preservation Office, one of the main objectives of the Tennessee Historical Commission is to encourage and facilitate the protection of the state's diverse historic places for the benefit of future generations.  The Commission is responsible for overseeing a variety of state and federal programs, including administering the National Register of Historic Places, placing historic markers, and providing technical assistance and training to local historic preservation commissions through the Certified Local Government program. Collierville is one of 32 Certified Local Government programs in the state. 

The Tennessee Historical Commission consists of 29 members.  The Governor appoints 24 Commission members, the executive director is a member, and the remaining four serve as ex-officio members. The ex-officio members include the state historian, the state archaeologist, the Commissioner of Environment and Conservation, and the state librarian and archivist. The 24 appointed members are equally divided among the three grand divisions of the state. The Commission meets three times a year.

For more information about the Tennessee Historical Commission, please call (615) 532-1550 or visit their website at






Press Releases | Environment & Conservation