Skip to Main Content

Professional Privilege Tax Deadline Approaching - Utilize Revenue's Online Resources to File With Ease

Thursday, May 03, 2012 | 09:48am
NASHVILLE - The Department of Revenue reminds professional privilege tax filers that the deadline for filing and paying Tennessee’s professional privilege tax is June 1. Taxpayers are encouraged to take advantage of the department’s convenient online tax filing and payment options available at www.TN.gov/revenue. Utilizing online filing allows taxpayers to submit their return, make a payment and receive confirmation in just minutes.
 
Taxpayers in the following occupations are subject to Tennessee’s professional privilege tax: Accountants, Chiropractors, Optometrists, Real Estate Principal Brokers, Agents (Securities), Dentists, Osteopathic Physicians, Speech Pathologists, Architects, Engineers, Pharmacists, Sports Agents. Attorneys, Investment Advisors, Physicians, Veterinarians, Audiologists, Landscape Architects, Podiatrists, Broker-Dealer Agents, Lobbyists, and Psychologists.
               
New online filing options for companies making bulk payments on behalf of their employees are also available. Taxpayers with questions concerning the filing of bulk professional fee payments can get assistance at (615)741-2507.
 
In order to assist individual taxpayers with electronic filing, the Department of Revenue provides computer access in its offices in Chattanooga, Knoxville, Jackson, Johnson City, Memphis and Nashville. Convenient payment options include free electronic funds transfers (EFT). Credit cards, including MasterCard, American Express and Discover Card are also accepted with an associated 2.49 percent processing fee.
 
The department also offers an electronic commerce hot line to assist taxpayers and tax practitioners at (866) 368-6374. Nashville-area and out-of-state callers should dial (615) 253-0704. “The Department of Revenue is constantly improving its ability to efficiently collect tax data and is making the filing and paying process more convenient for Tennessee’s taxpayers,” said Revenue commissioner Richard H. Roberts. “We hope all taxpayers take advantage of e-filing options and are assured that their data is confidential and protected under Tennessee law.”
 
The Department of Revenue is responsible for the administration of state tax laws and motor vehicle title and registration laws established by the legislature and the collection of taxes and fees associated with those laws. The Department of Revenue collects approximately 91 percent of total state tax revenue. During the 2011 fiscal year, the department collected $10.4 billion in state taxes and fees. In addition to collecting state taxes, the Department of Revenue collects taxes for local, county and municipal governments. During the 2011 fiscal year, local government collections by the Department of Revenue exceeded $2.0 billion. In collecting taxes, the department enforces the revenue laws fairly and impartially in an effort to encourage voluntary taxpayer compliance. The department also apportions revenue collections for distribution to the various state funds and local units of government. To learn more about the department, log on to www.TN.gov/revenue.
 
###

Revenue | Press Releases