Skip to Main Content

TDOT Announces Aeronautics Grants for 17 Tennessee Airports

Monday, March 12, 2012 | 08:23am
NASHVILLE— The Tennessee Department of Transportation (TDOT) announced today that state aeronautics grants totaling $16,751,893 have been approved for 17 Tennessee airports.
Airports receiving grants include:

McMinn County Airport (Athens)
Cleveland Municipal Airport
Elizabethton Municipal Airport
Sumner County Regional Airport
Gatlinburg-Pigeon Forge Airport
McGhee Tyson Airport (Knoxville)
McKellar-Sipes Regional Airport (Jackson)
Charles W. Baker Airport (Memphis)
General DeWitt Spain Airport (Memphis)
Memphis International Airport
Smithville Municipal Airport
Lovell Field (Chattanooga)
Centerville Municipal Airport
Dyersburg Regional Airport
Arnold Field (Halls)
Lebanon Municipal Airport
Henry County Airport

For more details on each of these grants visit:  
The grants are made available through the Tennessee Department of Transportation’s Aeronautics Division.
The Division administers federal and state funding to assist in the location, design, construction and maintenance of Tennessee's diverse public aviation system.
Except for routine expenditures, grant applications are reviewed by the Tennessee Aeronautics Commission (TAC), which is a five member board charged with policy planning and with regulating changes in the state Airport System Plan. The board carefully reviews all applications for grants to ensure that the proper state and local matching funds are in place and that the grants will be used for needed improvements.
The TDOT Aeronautics Division has the responsibility of inspecting and licensing the state’s 126 heliports and 75 public/general aviation airports. The Division also provides aircraft and related services for state government and staffing for the Tennessee Aeronautics Commission.
For more information:
B.J. Doughty
TDOT, Director of Community Relations & Communications
Office 615.741.7736
Mobile 615.714.8556

Transportation | Press Releases