TDOC Reminds Victims To Register For Notification
NASHVILLE - The Tennessee Department of Correction (TDOC) is committed to serving the interests of crime victims while promoting public safety. As a reminder, victims of crime or their families can register with the TDOC if they want to be notified of changes in an offender's status.
The TDOC offers a 24 hour/7 day a week toll free hotline called the Victim Offender Information Caller Emissary (VOICE), which provides the latest offender information. "We want victims to know they have a voice and they have the right to be informed of all proceedings including the release, transfer, or escape of an offender," said Commissioner Derrick D. Schofield.
TDOC victim notification is part of a shared registration system that includes the Board of Probation and Parole for notification of parole hearings and decisions. Victim registration began in 1996 in accordance with the Crime Victims' Bill of Rights. Victims of crimes that occurred prior to 1996 should contact the TDOC if they are unaware of the registration program. In accordance with Tennessee law, the Department of Correction will not release any identifying information on registered victims of crime or their family members.
To reigster, call (615) 253-8145 or visit http://tn.gov/correction/victiminformation/victimservices.html