Skip to Main Content

Tennessee Historical Commission Announces February Meeting

Friday, February 10, 2012 | 07:50am
Columbia Meeting on Feb. 17 is Open to the Public
NASHVILLE – The Tennessee Historical Commission announced today its regular meeting of the Commission members is scheduled for Friday, Feb. 17, at St. Peter’s Episcopal Church in Columbia, Tenn.  The meeting will be held in the church’s parish hall, located at 311 West 7th Street, beginning at 9 a.m.  
Open to the public, the meeting is one of three yearly gatherings of the Tennessee Historical Commission held in each of state’s Grand Divisions.  The Commission last met in Columbia in 1995.
“We encourage members of the public to attend the meeting, as it is a great opportunity to learn more about the exciting work our office is conducting and the important historical programs we administer, including the Tennessee Wars Commission and state-owned historic sites,” said Patrick McIntyre, executive director of the Tennessee Historical Commission. 
On Thursday, Feb. 16, Commission members will tour local Maury County landmarks, including Rattle and Snap; Hamilton Place; and the James K. Polk state historic site, which receives grant funding from the Commission.
As the State Historic Preservation Office, one of the main objectives of the Tennessee Historical Commission is to encourage and facilitate the protection of the state's diverse historic places for the benefit of future generations.  The Commission is responsible for overseeing a variety of state and federal programs, including administering the National Register of Historic Places, placing historic markers, and providing technical assistance and training to local historic preservation commissions through the Certified Local Government program. Columbia is one of 31 Certified Local Government programs in the state. 
The Tennessee Historical Commission consists of 29 members.  The Governor appoints 24 Commission members, the executive director is a member, and the remaining four serve as ex-officio members. The ex-officio members include the state historian, the state archaeologist, the Commissioner of Environment and Conservation, and the state librarian and archivist. The 24 appointed members are equally divided among the three grand divisions of the state. The Commission meets three times a year.
For more information about the Tennessee Historical Commission, please call (615) 532-1550 or visit their website at

Press Releases | Environment & Conservation