Skip to Main Content

TDOT Announces Aeronautics Grants for 23 Tennessee Airports

Tuesday, October 23, 2012 | 08:05am

NASHVILLE— The Tennessee Department of Transportation (TDOT) announced today that federal and state aeronautics grants totaling $16.3 million have been approved for 23 Tennessee airports.

Airports receiving grants include:

Cleveland (Bradley County) – Cleveland Municipal Airport Memphis (Shelby County) – Charles W. Baker General Aviation Airport
Gainesboro (Jackson County) – Jackson County Airport New Tazewell (Claiborne County) – New Tazewell Municipal Airport
Gallatin (Sumner County) – Sumner County Regional Airport Oneida (Scott County) – Scott County Airport
Huntington (Carroll County) – Carroll County Airport Portland (Sumner County) – Portland Municipal Airport
Jackson (Madison County) - McKellar Sipes Regional Airport Rogersville (Hawkins County) – Hawkins County Airport
Jamestown (Fentress County) – Jamestown Municipal Airport Selmer (McNairy County) – Robert Sibley Airport
Lebanon (Wilson County) – Lebanon Municipal Airport Smithville (DeKalb County) – Smithville Municipal Airport
Lewisburg (Marshall County) – Ellington Airport Smyrna (Rutherford County) – Smyrna Airport
Linden (Perry County) – Perry County Airport Tullahoma (Coffee County) – Tullahoma Municipal Airport
Livingston (Overton County) – Livingston Municipal Airport Union City (Obion County) – Everett-Stewart Regional Airport
Madisonville (Monroe County) – Monroe County Airport Waverly (Humphreys County) – Humphreys County Airport
McMinnville (Warren County) – Warren County Memorial Airport

For more details on each of these grants visit:

The grants are made available through the Tennessee Department of Transportation’s Aeronautics Division.
The Division administers federal and state funding to assist in the location, design, construction and maintenance of Tennessee's diverse public aviation system.

Except for routine expenditures, grant applications are reviewed by the Tennessee Aeronautics Commission (TAC), which is a five member board charged with policy planning and with regulating changes in the state Airport System Plan. The board carefully reviews all applications for grants to ensure that the proper state and local matching funds are in place and that the grants will be used for needed improvements.

The TDOT Aeronautics Division has the responsibility of inspecting and licensing the state’s 126 heliports and 75 public/general aviation airports.  The Division also provides aircraft and related services for state government and staffing for the Tennessee Aeronautics Commission.



Transportation | Press Releases