All Pain Management Clinics in Tennessee Must Be Registered
Law becomes effective Jan. 1, 2012; Rulemaking hearing Dec. 1, 2011
NASHVILLE – The Tennessee Department of Health is reminding all pain management clinic owners and operators of the legal requirement to register with the state. The new mandate, which was passed by the General Assembly and signed by Gov. Bill Haslam this year, is effective January 1, 2012.
As defined by law, a pain management clinic is a privately-owned facility with a medical doctor, osteopathic physician, advanced practice nurse, or physician assistant, who provides pain management services to patients, a majority of whom are dispensed or prescribed opioids, benzodiazepine, barbiturates, or carisoprodol, excluding suboxone, for more than 90 days within a 12-month period.
Registration of these facilities involves submitting a completed application and supporting documentation, and paying fees totaling $415. A separate application is required for each individual clinic, regardless of the facility’s name, owner or operator. Once the department determines that the pain management clinic meets the requirements, a certificate will be issued, which must be posted at the facility so it is visible to patients. Thereafter, the facility certificate must be renewed every two years.
Emergency pain management clinic rules are currently in place. However, the department will conduct a rulemaking hearing to discuss and consider permanent rules on December 1, 2011, at 10 a.m., CST, at 227 French Landing in MetroCenter in Nashville.
The application is available online at http://health.state.tn.us/Downloads/PH-4151.pdf.
For more information, or to review the emergency rules or Public Chapter 340, go to the website at http://health.state.tn.us/Boards/PainClinicRegistry.shtml.