Business Tax Filing Deadline Approaching
Thursday, January 27, 2011 | 03:34am
Classifications 1 and 5 Due Feb. 28
NASHVILLE - The Tennessee Department of Revenue is reminding Class 1 and 5 business taxpayers of the Feb. 28 filing deadline. The department's convenient online tax filing and payment options allow taxpayers to submit their tax return information, make payments and receive confirmation in just minutes. Business tax filers are encouraged to use this option to file their tax return. Please visit our dedicated website at: https://www.tennesseeanytime.org/biztax/.
"In taking over the business tax administration, the Department of Revenue continuously strives to improve this process for Tennessee taxpayers,” said Commissioner Richard Roberts. "I encourage everyone to take advantage of our easy and time-saving online filing options, as this service also allows the department to process returns more quickly and accurately."
Business tax taxpayers who are currently required to file their sales tax returns electronically are also required to file their business tax returns electronically. For taxpayers required to file electronically, the paper return is provided for informational purposes only.
Taxpayers can pay via credit card (MasterCard, American Express and Discover Card) or through an EFT payment option. An associated 2.49 percent processing fee is charged with all credit card transactions. The Department of Revenue also offers payment warehousing for taxpayers that use the EFT payment option with its business tax online filing application. Payment warehousing allows a taxpayer to complete the tax return in advance and schedule the payment to be processed on the due date. This enables taxpayers to better manage their filing obligations while maintaining access to their money as long as possible.
In order to assist taxpayers, the Department of Revenue provides computer access and customer service assistance in its offices in Chattanooga, Knoxville, Jackson, Johnson City, Memphis, and Nashville. The Department also offers an electronic commerce hotline to assist taxpayers and tax practitioners. In-state callers may dial (866) 368-6374 and callers within the Nashville area and out-of-state may dial (615) 253-0704. All taxpayer data, whether paper or electronic, filed with the Department of Revenue is confidential data protected under Tennessee law.
The Department of Revenue is responsible for the administration of state tax laws and motor vehicle title and registration laws established by the legislature and the collection of taxes and fees associated with those laws. The Department of Revenue collects approximately 91 percent of total state tax revenue. During the 2009-2010 fiscal year, the department collected $10.1 billion in state taxes and fees. In addition to collecting state taxes, $1.9 billion of local sales tax was collected by the department for local governments during the 2009-2010 fiscal year. In collecting taxes, the department enforces the revenue laws fairly and impartially in an effort to encourage voluntary taxpayer compliance. The department also apportions revenue collections for distribution to the various state funds and local units of government. To learn more about the department, log on to www.TN.gov/revenue.