Free Crisis Counseling Available to Flood Victims

Monday, May 24, 2010 | 06:47am
Mental Health Services Available in 45 Counties
NASHVILLE – The Tennessee Department of Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities (TDMHDD) received a $380,265 grant from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) to provide free crisis counseling to individuals impacted by the severe storms, historic flooding, and tornados that began April 30, 2010.
The department will collaborate with five community mental health centers in Middle and West Tennessee to provide basic mental health services in affected communities including individual and group crisis counseling, public education, community networking and support, and both adult and child needs assessment and referral.
“As the traumatic event of the storms and flooding and their destructive aftermath continue to unfold in our community, the need for helpful, fundamental, and timely mental health services and materials is essential,” stated Tennessee Department of Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Commissioner Virginia Trotter Betts. “It is important for everyone to know they are not alone in times like this and needed resources and strategies are available across the state.”
Services are now available for individuals in Benton, Cannon, Carroll, Cheatham, Chester, Clay, Crockett, Davidson, Decatur, DeKalb, Dickson, Dyer, Fayette, Gibson, Giles, Hardeman, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Hickman, Houston, Humphreys, Jackson, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lewis, Macon, Madison, Marshall, Maury, McNairy, Montgomery, Obion, Perry, Robertson, Rutherford, Shelby, Smith, Stewart, Sumner, Tipton, Trousdale, Wayne, Williamson and Wilson Counties.
For a list of additional mental health resources or crisis services in your area visit or call TDMHDD’s Office of Consumer Affairs at (615) 532-6700 or 1-800-560-5767.
The following community mental health centers will be providing free mental health education, crisis counseling, and referral services to the counties listed.

Centerstone Community Mental Health Center
633 Thompson Lane
Nashville, TN 37204
Cheatham, Davidson County (South of the Cumberland River), Dickson, Giles, Hickman, Houston, Humphreys, Lawrence, Lewis, Marshall, Maury, Montgomery, Perry, Robertson, Stewart, and Wayne Counties
Mental Health Cooperative
275 Cumberland Bend
Nashville 37228
Davidson County (North of the Cumberland River)
Behavioral Health Initiative
36C Sandstone Circle
Jackson, TN 38305
Benton, Carroll, Chester, Crockett, Decatur, Dyer, Fayette, Gibson, Hardeman, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Lauderdale, Madison, McNairy, Obion, and Tipton Counties
Volunteer Behavioral Health Services
118 North Church Street
Murfreesboro, TN 37130
Cannon, Clay, DeKalb, Jackson, Macon, Rutherford, Smith, Sumner, Trousdale, Williamson, and Wilson Counties
Southeast Mental Health Center
3810 Winchester Road
Memphis, TN 38181
Shelby County


Press Releases | Mental Health & Substance Abuse Services | Tennessee Emergency Management Agency