Tennessee’s Best Teachers Receive Recognition

Tuesday, June 05, 2007 | 07:00pm

Nashville, TN – Nine educators from across Tennessee have been named as finalists in the 2007-2008 Teacher of the Year competition. Representing the three grand divisions of the state, these teachers have already been named teacher of the year in their local schools, districts, and individual regions of the state. These finalists represent a broad spectrum of grades and subject matters taught in Tennessee’s public schools.

“Teaching is a profession that requires subject area knowledge, skilled methodology, and the calling to serve a community’s most important resource……its children,” Education Commissioner Lana Seivers said. “These nine teachers represent the best practices in education, the compassion to help every student and the dedicated will to make a difference in children’s lives every day.”

Finalists for 2007-2008 Teacher of the Year are:

East Grand Division

Pre-K – Grade 4 Tara Nelson Bradley County Schools
Grades 5 – 8 Renda Crowe Blount County Schools
Grades 9 – 12 Pamela Rector Hamilton County Schools

Middle Grand Division

Pre-K – Grade 4 Alicia Swain Murfreesboro City Schools
Grades 5 – 8 Kristy Mall Murfreesboro City Schools
Grades 9 – 12 Sue Gilmore Metro Nashville Schools

West Grand Division

Pre-K – Grade 4 Celia Stoneking Shelby County Schools
Grades 5 – 8 Brenta Joy Shelby County Schools
Grades 9 – 12 Kay Hart Henderson County Schools

Tennessee’s Teacher of the Year program began in 1960 to honor and highlight those educators who showed extraordinary dedication and performance in the classroom. Among the criteria to qualify, teachers must have been teaching full-time for at least five years; have a proven record of using creative, research-based teaching strategies resulting in measurable student results; and be effective school and community leaders.
The 2008 Teacher of the Year and the Grand Division winners will be named at a banquet sponsored by the Niswonger Foundation this October in Nashville. Tennessee’s winner will automatically compete in the National Teacher of the Year Award program.

For more information, contact Rachel Woods at (615) 253-1960 or Rachel.Woods@state.tn.us.

Press Releases | Education