Governor Bredesen Announces Grant for Smyrna Airport

Wednesday, January 11, 2006 | 06:00pm

Grant awarded through TDOT’s Aeronautics DivisionNashville, TN—Governor Phil Bredesen announced today that the state will provide an Aeronautics Grant in the amount of $31,500 to the Smyrna Airport in Rutherford County to assist with improvements to that facility.

“Our general aviation airports serve as important hubs for businesses operating in the state, for shipping, and as reliever airports for larger flight centers,” said Bredesen. “They are a key component to our transportation system and need to be kept up to date.”

“This airport is a contributing and growing factor in our regional economic picture“, added Representative Kent Coleman. “We need to help it prosper.”

“This is an expanding airport that is playing an increasingly important role in our region,” added Senator Jim Tracy. “I’m pleased the state could help with this effort.”

“The grant will be used to assist with the purchase of electronic equipment in the tower and for a new lighting regulator for the runway,” stated Representative John Hood. “This is an excellent investment.”

The grant is made available through the Tennessee Department of Transportation’s (TDOT) Aeronautics Division. This Division administers federal and state funding to assist in the location, design, construction and maintenance of Tennessee’s diverse public aviation system.

Program requests are reviewed by the Tennessee Aeronautics Commission (TAC), which is a five member board charged with grant appointments, policy planning and with regulating changes in the state airport system plan.

“We take our duties very seriously,” reported TAC Chairman Fred Dettwiller. “These grants can have a profound impact on the future of a general aviation airport and its economic contributions.”

The TDOT Aeronautics Division also has the responsibility of inspecting and licensing the state’s 118 heliports and 83 public/general aviation airports. General aviation includes all aircraft not flown by commercial airlines or the military. The Aeronautics Division also provides aircraft and related services for state government executives, staffing for the Tennessee Aeronautics Commission, and numerous educational support programs. The division’s offices include Administration, Finance & Grant Management, Engineering & Program Development, Flight Services, and Planning & Programming.

Senator Bill Ketron and Representatives Curt Cobb and Donna Rowland also represent Rutherford County in the Tennessee General Assembly.

Press Releases | Transportation