FAQs about Active-Shooter Training
In an effort to improve school safety in Tennessee, Governor Bill Lee and the Tennessee General Assembly passed Public Acts Chapter 367 (2023) that requires active shooter training for every licensed armed security guard who provides security or patrol services in a public school, public charter school, private school, or church-related school. The following Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) was created to help provide a better understanding to licensees about how they will play a critical role in helping better protect Tennessee's future:
Q: What are the new requirements for active shooter training?
A: Every armed security guard providing security or patrol services in a public school, public charter school, private school, or church-related school must complete an 8-hour active shooter training prior to providing services in one of these types of schools.
Q: Who is required to complete the additional active shooter training?
A: Every armed security guard providing security or patrol services at a public school, public charter school, private school, or church-related school. This new training is required whether the armed guard is employed by the school or a contract security company contracted to provide guards in the school.
Q: Will security guards be required to complete any refresher trainings related to active shooter training?
A: Yes, any armed security guards who provide services in a public, public charter, private, or church-related school must submit proof of active shooter refresher training with their application to renew their registration card. Failure to provide proof of this training will result in the active shooter training certification being removed from the guard’s file and registration card.
Q: Are unarmed guards required to complete this active shooter training?
A: No, unarmed guards are not required to complete active shooter training. However, any security guard who completes an approved active shooter training may submit proof to the Department and have the training added to his or her file.
Q: Which schools are affected by this new law change?
A: Any public school, public charter school, private school, or church-related school. These are only primary and secondary schools, therefore, armed security guards providing services at public or private colleges and universities are not required to complete active shooter training prior to providing security or patrol services at these colleges and universities.
Q: When does this additional training need to be completed by?
A: Effective July 1, 2023, all armed security guards must complete an approved active shooter training prior to providing security or patrol services in a public school, public charter school, private school, or church-related school.
Q: Where can these trainings be completed?
A: Active shooter training can be completed by a state certified trainer approved to provide the 8-hour active shooter training or any other individual, organization, or group approved by the Department to provide active shooter training to security guards. The Department’s website shows trainers and providers who are approved to provide active shooter training at: https://www.tn.gov/commerce/regboards/pps/licensee-applicant-resources/certified-training.html. If you have any questions about whether a trainer or provider, you may contact the Department by e-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org or by phone at 615-741-6382.
Q: What are the penalties for the failure to complete this additional training?
A: Any security guard who provides security services without having timely completed the active shooter training requirements is subject to discipline by the Department, which may include the suspension or revocation of the guard’s security guard registration, the assessment of civil penalties, and/or the assessment of investigatory and court costs.
Additionally, any person, school, or company who employs an improperly trained security guard may be subject to prosecution for a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by fine only.
Q: If I am a certified trainer who wants to provide these new trainings to security guards, how do I become certified by the Program to provide these trainings?
A: Certified trainers who wish to be certified to provide active shooter trainings may contact the Department to submit an application and proof of qualifications to provide active shooter training. Proof of qualifications to provide this training may include a certificate from a nationally recognized organization, law enforcement agency, or other organization certifying individuals to provide these trainings to security guards.
Q: How do these new requirements impact fees?
A: At this time, there are no new fees associated with active shooter training requirements unless a guard or trainer is requesting a new/duplicate registration card or certificate to reflect any new certifications.
Q: Who should I contact if I’m not sure that my training is compliant or I need assistance applying?
A: You may contact the Detection Services Licensing Program by e-mail at email@example.com or by phone at 615-741-6382.