Skip to Main Content

COVID-19 INFORMATION

How to Get a License

Tennessee Auctioneer Commission

License Requirements

Please allow 10-14 days for processing of license.

Click here for the PDF- PSI Exam document you'll need to complete your application. This document is on PSI's site, you will be leaving the State of Tennessee.

We are using Adobe Acrobat portable document format (pdf) for the application forms and exam information. The .pdf file format allows you to view and print the form with all the formatting intact. If you do not already have the Adobe Acrobat installed, please download the free Adobe Acrobat software here.

If you are an currently reside in another state and are licensed in that state, your fees and requirements may be different. Please click here for more information on reciprocity.

The following steps must be taken in order to obtain an Affiliate license:

  1. Complete a 50 hour approved auction education program.
  2. Register and schedule your examination with the PSI testing facility
  3. On receiving notice that you have successfully completed the Affiliate exam, remit the appropriate fees and documentation to the Tennessee Auctioneer Commission for issuance of your Affiliate License.
  4. You may begin your affiliation upon receipt of your license.

Application fee: $50.00
License fee: $125
Recovery fund: $50.00
TOTAL: $225.00

*Click Here to choose your desired application*

The following steps must be taken in order to obtain a Principal Auctioneer license:

  1. You must have successfully completed an affiliation of at least 6 months under the supervision of a licensed Tennessee Principal Auctioneer.
  2. Successfully complete the Auctioneer Exam at PSI https://candidate.psiexams.com/index.jsp
  3. Complete the Application for Upgrade to Principal Auctioneer License on CORE. You will need to attach the following documents:
    1. Completed Affiliate Log with 1000 points.
    2. Copy of High School or GED Certificate.
    3. Evidence of Escrow Account (bank statement, voided check or deposit slip).
    4. PSI Auctioneer Exam Certificate.
    5. Submit the application with the payment of the fees.
  4. You may begin practicing as a Principal Auctioneer upon receipt of your license.
  5. Except as provided in $ 62-19-117, every auctioneer licensed under this chapter shall maintain a place of business in this state

Application fee: $50.00
License fee: $175
Recovery fund: $50.00
TOTAL: $275.00

*Click Here to choose your desired application*

You must be a currently licensed Principal Auctioneer for two (2) years and have reached at least eighteen (18) years of age, to apply for a license upgrade to Public Automobile Auctioneer. You must also have a Motor Vehicle Dealer license in your individual name (the same name as your Auctioneer license). The following steps must be taken to obtain a Public Automobile Auctioneer license endorsement:

  1. Complete and submit an upgrade application to the Tennessee Auctioneer Commission in Core
  2. Submit proof of successfully completing, in addition to the education required by TCA § 62-19-111(b)(2), fifteen (15) hours of more rigorous classroom or online instruction in automobile auctioneering.
  3. Submit a copy of your Motor Vehicle Dealer license in your individual name.
  4. Submit payment of license fees to the Tennessee Auctioneer Commission.

Application fee: $50.00

Recovery Fund $50.00
License fee: $175
TOTAL: $275.00

Click Here to choose your desired application

You must have a Public Automobile Auctioneer designated for your Auction and they must hold a Motor Vehicle Dealer license in their individual name with the Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission. To apply for a license as a Public Automobile Auction you must have a business telephone in the auction company name (cellular telephones are not acceptable) and a permanently installed professional business sign with letters which are at least eight (8) inches in height.
The following steps must be taken in order to obtain a Public Automobile Auction License:

  1. Complete and submit an application to the Tennessee Auctioneer Commission
  2. Submit the name and license number of a Public Automobile Auctioneer that will be designated for your Auction. They must sign the application being submitted and are required to have a Motor Vehicle Dealer License in their individual name.
  3. Submit Letter of Compliance from the zoning authority
  4. Submit proof of Garage Keepers Legal Liability Insurance in the amount of not less than $500,000.00
  5. Submit Surety Bond in the amount of $50,000.00 issued by a licensed bonding company
  6. Submit a compiled financial statement prepared by a CPA or a public accountant dated not earlier than 12 months prior to the date of application (must indicate a minimum net worth of at least $100,000.00.
  7. Submit proof of business tax license required by local applicable law.
  8. Submit payment of license fees to the Tennessee Auctioneer Commission.

Application fee: $50.00
License fee: $175
TOTAL: $225.00

*Click Here to choose your desired application*

The following steps must be taken in order to obtain a Bid Caller license:

  1. Complete a 16 hour approved auction education program for Bid Calling.
  2. Provide evidence you are eighteen (18) years of age.
  3. Complete your application on-line at www.Core.TN.gov
  4. You may begin Bid Calling upon receipt of your license

Application Fee: $50
License Fee: $150
Recovery Fund: $50
TOTAL: $250