Skip to Main Content

Basic Law Enforcement School

Basic Law Enforcement School

Date(s) Orientation -- Attendance is mandatory!
  • September 20, 2019 (for school starting September 29, 2019)
  • December 13, 2019 (for school starting in January 5, 2020)
  • March 20, 2020 (for school starting March 29, 2020)
  • June 12, 2020 (for school starting July 5, 2020)
  • September 18, 2020 (for school starting September 27, 2020)
  • December 11, 2020 (for school starting January 2021 - Date TBD)
School
  • July 7 - September 27, 2019
  • September 29 - December 20, 2019
  • January 5 - March 27, 2020
  • March 29 - June 19, 2020
  • July 5 - September 25, 2020
  • September 27 - December 18, 2020
 
Start/End Time(s) Orientation
All orientation days begin at 1:00 p.m. 
Students should arrive on the first Sunday of school by 2:00 p.m.
 
Location Tennessee Law Enforcement Training Academy
3025 Lebanon Pike
Nashville, TN 37214
 
Instructor(s) TLETA Instructors
Adjunct Faculty
 
Description The Basic Police School is the mainstay of the Tennessee Law Enforcement Training Academy. Our mission is to produce a physically fit, highly motivated, basically trained police office thoroughly indoctrinated in the ethics and professional standards of the law enforcement profession. The officer will have a degree of both technical and tactical proficiency to function on the streets as well as in the criminal and civil courts of our state.  
Fee County & Local Officers - $3,300
State Officers - $3,900
Private Agencies - $7,800 Basic Police School
Criminal Justice Majors - $9,600
 
Length A minimum of 480 hours  
Prerequisites Applicants must be employed as a full time (twenty hours or more a week) law enforcement officer. OR Be a senior in college, majoring in criminal law or criminal justice. A recommendation by your counselor is required.  
Materials
  • A Class A or issued training uniform is to be worn during class hours.  If no uniform is available, officer must wear shirt, tie and slacks.  Female officers, who do not have a uniform, will wear slacks. Casual clothes may be worn after class hours. The Class A uniform or a dress suit must be worn for the class picture and during graduation ceremony.
  • Gym clothes and shoes are needed for physical training. Gym clothes must include five (5) gray tee shirts, one (1) gray sweat suit and five (5) gray pairs of shorts, and white socks.
  • Mouth piece, groin protection, vest, duty belt, duty weapon, handcuffs, etc.
  • Personal supplies (towels and bed linens) are furnished.
  • Some type of electronic device that has an existing data/internet connection or that is Wi-Fi capable (for orientation and class).  Must be Internet Explorer 9 or later.
  • The device must also contain a USB port that will allow access to the manual which is given on a thumb drive.  All documents are in PDF format.
 
To Register Please fill out the application and return to Kim Moss at:

3025 Lebanon Pike
Nashville, TN 37214
or
Fax to 615.741.3366
or email to kimberly.moss@tn.gov 

Application for Basic Law Enforcement School

You will also need to fill out the Application for Officer Certification webform on the Portal -
https://acadis-portal.tn.gov/AcadisViewer/login.aspx
 
Other Notes