Over 100 New Officers Set to Graduate from TLETA on Dec. 20

Officers Will Serve Tennessee Communities, State Agencies Following Graduation
Thursday, December 19, 2019 | 09:43am

NASHVILLE – Over 100 newly certified law enforcement officers are slated to graduate from the Tennessee Law Enforcement Training Academy (TLETA) on Friday, Dec. 20, 2019 in Nashville. The graduation ceremony for TLETA Basic Law Enforcement School Class 1879 will be held at 11 a.m. (CT) at the Al Menah Shrine Temple, 1354 Brick Church Pike, Nashville TN 37207.

“The cadets of Class 1879 have demonstrated they have the commitment it takes to successfully serve their fellow Tennesseans and make this state a safe and prosperous place to live, work, and play,” said TLETA Director Brian Grisham. “In addition to completing their TLETA training, the cadets of Class 1879 donated 84 units of blood that have the potential for saving up to 252 lives. The class also collected over 1,000 toys that they donated to the Shriners Hospitals for Children for distribution to patients and their families. I commend Class 1879 for their dedication and wish them the best as they return to their communities and serve the Volunteer State.”

Tennessee District Attorneys General Conference Executive Director Jerry Estes will be the graduation’s featured speaker.

TLETA’s Basic Police School course provides technical and tactical expertise in addition to the ethical and professional standards needed to be a successful law enforcement officer. The newly certified officers who will graduate Friday will join thousands of law enforcement officers who have graduated from TLETA during its more than 50-year history.

Graduates of Class 1879 will serve the following police departments (PD), sheriffs’ offices (SO), and other agencies:

Alcoa (PD), Ashland City (PD), Benton County (SO), Brentwood (PD), Cheatham County (SO), Chester County (SO), Clarksville (PD), Columbia (PD), Cookeville (PD), Covington (PD), Dickson County (SO), Dickson (PD), Fayette County (SO), Fayetteville (PD), Franklin (PD), Germantown (PD), Greene County (SO), Harriman (PD), Hendersonville (PD), Houston County (SO), Humboldt (PD), Huntingdon (PD), Lawrence County (SO), Lebanon (PD), Lewis County (SO), Lincoln County (SO), Macon County (SO), McMinnville (PD), Memphis Airport (PD), Metro Nashville Airport (PD), Millersville (PD), Montgomery County (SO), Oakland (PD), Obion County (So), Portland (PD), Putnam County (SO), Roane County (SO), Robertson County (SO), Smith County (SO), Smyrna (PD), Spring Hill (PD), Springfield (PD), Sumner County (SO), Tipton County (SO), Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission, Tennessee Department of Correction, Tennessee State Parks, Trousdale County (SO), University of Tennessee Chattanooga (PD), Union City (PD), Warren County (SO), Weakley County (SO), Williamson County (SO), and Wilson County (SO).

The next Basic Police School class begins January 5, 2020.