
INSTRUCTIONS FOR REQUEST FOR RECORD- DRIVER'S AUTHORIZATION 
REQUIRED 

This form is used by individual's requesting a driver's record after the driver previously 
blocked access so that the department could not furnish their record to another 
individual without permission from the driver. 

The form must be completed, signed by the driver and notarized by a Notary Public. 
There is a $5.00 fee charged for each driver record requested. Cashier's check or 
money order should be made payable to the Tennessee Department of Safety. The 
request can be mailed to the Tennessee Department of Safety, Financial Responsibility 
Division, 1150 Foster Avenue, Nashville, TN 37210 or a copy can be obtained in person 
at any Reinstatement or Driver License Issuance Office in the state. If mailing, please 
allow two weeks from postmark date for delivery of requested driver record. 



REQUEST FOR RECORD 
INDIVIDUAL AUTHORIZATION 

TN DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY 
1150 FOSTER AVENUE 
NASHVILLE, TN 37210 

(615) 741-3954 

T.C.A. 55-25-101 ET SEQ. CREATES THE "UNIFORM MOTOR VEHICLES RECORDS DISCLOSURE 
ACT" THAT IS EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 1997. THE NEW LAW WILL MAKE "PERSONAL INFORMATION" 
CONFIDENTIAL WITH CERTAIN EXCEPTIONS AND AUTHORIZES THE DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY 
TO IMPLEMENT PROCEDURES TO ALLOW PERSONS TO TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THE 
CONFIDENTIALITY AUTHORIZATION. 

I, , TN Driver License No. Date of 
--------------~-' 

(Name of party approving release of information) 

-·----------' Social Security No. _____________ , understand the above statement and authorize 

wbich can be obtained from my Driver Record. 

----,-----:---,-----,---------Personally appeared before me tbis the 
(Party approving release) 

-----------20 

Notary Public Signature and Seal 

State 

Commission Expires 

I understand that any person requesting the disclosure of personal information from 
department records who misrepresents his identity or makes a false statement to the 
department on any application required to submit pursuant to this act shall be guilty of a 
Class C misdemeanor, punishable by a fine not to exceed one thousand dollars {$1,000) 
under T.C.A. 55-25·112. 

Signature of Party Obtaining Information Date 

Departmenfuse Only -Identification Presented: 

·· .. WorkiO 
~----~------............. ~ 

Social Security .No ..................... --"-"-_._"'-'------ Other,_.....,........,.. ...................... ___ ..;.;_;___,...___... 
... 

Examhier 

SF-1282 RDA291 


