INSTRUCTIONS FOR REQUEST FOR RECORD - REQUESTOR AUTHORIZED BY
DPPA

This form can be used by individual’s who are the exception under the DPPA and can
obtain a person’s driver record even if the driver requested the information not be
released.

The requestor must complete the form, indicate the authorized purpose and reason for
the request, mark the document needed, and submit the form along with a letter from
the company or agency on company letterhead verifying the reason for the request.. If
multiple drivers’ records are needed, then the Multiple Request for Records form may
also be completed. There is a $5.00 charge for each driver record. Cashier’s check or
money order should be made payable to the Tennessee Department of Safety. The
request can be mailed to the Tennessee Department of Safety, Financial Responsibility
Division, 1150 Foster Avenue, Nashville, TN 37210 or a copy can be obtained in
person at any Reinstatement or Driver License station in the state. If mailing, please
allow two weeks for postmark date for delivery of requested driver record.



REQUEST FOR RECORD

AUTHORIZED REQUESTOR
TN DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY
1150 FOSTER AVENUE
NASHVILLE, TN 37210
(615) 741-3954

I am requesting information on the following person (more than one, complete form for each or attach list
with all required information for each driver):

Name A Date of Birth
(Last) (First) (Middle) {Month Day Year)
TN Driver License No. Social Security No. (if available)

NEW STATE AND FEDERAL LAWS MAKE “PERSONAL INFORMATION" CONFIDENTIAL WITH
CERTAIN EXCEPTIONS AND AUTHORIZES THE DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY TO IMPLEMENT
PROCEDURES TO ALLOW PERSONS TO TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THE CONFIDENTIALITY
AUTHORIZATION.

Authorized Purposes: Please mark that applies to your request:

_ legd ____Employment ___Fraud Investigation ___Government business
___Insurance ___ Statistical/Research (cannot use to contact person) ___Law Enforcement
Private Investigator ____Other Explain

List reason for request

Must be for reason listed in T.C.A. 55-25-107

Available Documents: Please mark the document being requested and furnish any additional information

needed:

___MVR (driving record which includes address) - $5.00.

___Investigating Officer’'s Accident Report - $4.00 - Furnish date of accident, county of accident, and
drivers'names

____Financial Responsibility Affidavit - $5.00 - Furnish date and county of accident

___Compliance on Accident - $5.00 - furnish date and county of accident

___Miscellaneous documents such as driver license applications, tickets, correspondence, etc. - $5.00 -
Furnish date of document County where incident occurred Type of
Document

1 understand that any person requesting the disclosure of personal information from department records
who misrepresents his identity or makes a false statement to the department on any application required to
submit pursuant to this act shall be guilty of a Class C misdemeanor, punishable by a fine not to exceed one
thousand dollars ($1,000) as outlined under T.C.A. 55-25-112.

All requests must be accompanied with a letier from the company or agency verifying the reason for the
request.

Company Name, Address & Phone No.

Print Name Signature Date

Department Use Only - Identification Presented:

Driver License No. State Work ID
Social Security No. Other

Examiner
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