State Workforce Development Board


  Board Members

The State Workforce Development Board provides leadership and guidance to Tennessee’s Workforce Development System. The vision of the Workforce Board is to increase the competitive position of Tennessee businesses and attract new businesses through the development of a highly skilled workforce.

Click to reveal the members.
  • Bill Haslam
    Govenor Bill Haslam
    Tennessee State Government
    Nashville, TN
  • Bob Ravenor
    Mr. Bob Ravener, Chair
    Dollar General Corporation
    Goodlettsville, TN


  • Burns Phillips
    Mr. Burns Phillips
    Labor and Workforce Development
  • Raquel Hatter
    Mrs. Danielle W. Barnes
    Human Services
  • Candice McQueen
    Dr. Candice McQueen
  • Randy Boyd
    Mr. Bob Rolfe
    Economic and Community Development

  • Mayor Rogers Anderson
    Williamson County Government
    Franklin, TN
  • Martha Axford
    ABC Design, LLC
    Knoxville, TN
  • Jason Bates
    Toyota Bodine Aluminum, Inc.
    Jackson, TN
  • Timothy Burchfield
    Johnson City, TN
  • Trudy Carson
    Metropolitan Nashville Airport Authority
    Nashville, TN
  • Ann Hatcher
    Nashville, TN
  • Carolyn Chism Hardy
    Coors Brewing Company
    Bartlett, TN
  • Warren Logan
    Urban League of Greater Chattanooga
    Chattanooga, TN
  • Representative Susan Lynn
    Tennessee State Government
    Antioch, TN
  • Senator Mark Norris
    Tennessee State Government
    Nashville, TN
  • Greg Persinger
    Yates Services, LLC
    Smyrna, TN
  • Stuart Price
    Lee Company
    Franklin, TN
  • Yolanda Shields
    Let's Go Innovate, LLC
    Spring Hill, TN
  • Kevin Vaughn
    FirePro LLC
    Hampshire, TN
  • James Williamson
    Aztec Pest Control, LLC
    Dyersburg, TN
  • Sandra Woods
    Retiree Member Club
    Nashville, TN


The State Workforce Development Board has three committees and an Executive Committee composed of the Chair, Vice Chair, and committee chairs. The Executive Committee shall have supervision of the affairs of the Board between its business meetings, and conduct necessary business to ensure compliance with the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (P.L. 113—128) as may be amended from time to time, and applicable State and Federal regulations. The Executive Committee may make recommendations to the Board, and perform such other duties as are specified in the bylaws. The Executive Committee shall be subject to the order of the Board, and none of its acts shall conflict with these bylaws or policies of the Board.

There are three standing committees of the Board, for which the Board Chair appoints a Chair. These individuals are joined by a Vice Chair, Staff Liaison and other members. The committees shall convene at least four times per year in advance of the full Board meetings and as needed upon the advisement of the Board Chair.

Oversight Committee 

Responsibilities are as follows:

  • Advise the Governor on program and policy changes under WIOA
  • Lead the development, maintenance and modification of State, regional and local plans
  • Serve as an advisor to review statewide program alignment
  • Review and make recommendations on program funding allocations
  • Lead review of statewide Workforce System
Operations Committee

Responsibilities are as follows:

  • Oversee the continuous improvement of WIOA programs and activities
  • Be the lead monitor of State performance/accountability
  • Be the lead coordinator of policies and provision of WIOA services
  • Review and make recommendations for performance reporting, including Labor Market Information
Opportunities Committee

Responsibilities are as follows:

  • Identify and share Workforce System best practices
  • Develop strategies for technology alignment and integration
  • Be the lead reviewer of service-model strategies in WIOA programs
  • Oversee all WIOA Youth program initiatives


  • Friday, February 10
  • Friday, May 12
  • Friday, August 11
  • Friday, November 17