Fatality, Hospitalization, Amputation, and Loss of an Eye Reporting
Workplace Fatality Reporting:
Employers are required by law to report all workplace fatalities within EIGHT hours of occurrence.
You can report a workplace fatality to Tennessee OSHA by:
- Calling Tennessee OSHA’s main office at 800-249-8510 or, after hours, by calling the national OSHA call service at 800-321-OSHA (6742).
- Calling your closest TOSHA Area Office during normal business hours.
Only fatalities occurring within 30 days of the work-related incident must be reported to Tennessee OSHA.
Hospitalization, Amputation, or Loss of an Eye Reporting
In-patient hospitalization, amputation, or loss of an eye must be reported to Tennessee OSHA if the loss or admission to the hospital occurs within 24 hours of the work-related incident.
You can report these events to Tennessee OSHA by:
Additional information on recordkeeping and reporting is located at https://www.osha.gov/recordkeeping2014/index.html
Send comments to Division of Occupational Safety and Health Steve.Hawkins@tn.gov