HiSET®, GED, and Diploma Information
Request a Copy of your Diploma or Transcript
Tennessee Adult Education and its affiliates do not house diploma records or transcripts on site. Anyone who has taken the HiSET or GED in Tennessee can request records through DiplomaSender by visiting them online at www.diplomasender.com or by calling 855-313-5799.
High School Diploma
The Division of Adult Education does not have high school records. For requests about a high school diploma, please contact the Department of Education at 615-741-5158 or visit the Department of Education website.
HiSET Exam and Eligibility Requirements
The Tennessee State Board of Education has ruled that passing the HiSET exam (published by Educational Testing Service, or ETS) is currently the only method for earning a recognized Tennessee high school equivalency diploma. The Adult Education Division is the liaison for the HiSET program. As such, the division creates a policy that aligns with Tennessee laws concerning high school equivalency testing and eligibility requirements. To take the HiSET exam, testers must meet the following eligibility requirements:
- Age: You must be at least 18 years of age without a high school diploma or equivalency to take the HiSET exam. If you are 17 years old you must have an age waiver signed by your local director of schools and present it at the time of your test.
- Residency: You do not have to be a resident of Tennessee to take the HiSET exam.
- Identification: You must present identification on test day at the HiSET test center. A valid driver's license, passport, military ID, or another form of government-issued (national or foreign) identification that shows name, address, date of birth, signature and photograph are acceptable forms of identification. Outdated or expired identification will not be accepted.
The Division also approves test centers to offer the HiSET exam. Test centers interested in applying to offer the HiSET should complete and submit this form.
Testers may be eligible to receive vouchers through their local adult education program - these vouchers allow testers to take the HiSET exam for free. To be eligible to receive vouchers, testers must be a resident of Tennessee and meet minimum required scores on a practice test issued by their local program. Local program directors can contact the Adult Education Division to receive vouchers for test-takers. Please see the HiSET Vouchers Policy for additional details.