Rules and Regulations
Deer harvested in Unit CWD (excluding Fayette and Hardeman Counties) from Nov.2-3 or Nov. 9-10 must be taken to a physical check station where TWRA staff will be taking samples for CWD testing. Mandatory Physical Check Stations
Deer harvested in counties that are not affected by CWD do not have to meet carcass restrictions to be transported into CWD affected counties. Conversely, the following applies to transporting deer harvested in CWD affected counties.
To understand the carcass transportation restrictions for deer in CWD affected counties, it is important to know there are two classifications of CWD affected counties:
- CWD-positive counties are those with known cases of CWD
- CWD high-risk counties are those not known to have CWD, but the disease has been detected within 10 miles of their border.
- Do not move whole or field-dressed deer carcasses or unapproved parts outside of CWD affected counties. Only approved parts (listed below) may be moved out of CWD affected counties.
- Deer carcasses can be moved from one high-risk county to another high-risk county. Deer carcasses can be moved from a high-risk county to a positive county.
- A deer carcass cannot be moved outside of positive counties but can move from one positive county to another positive county.
- Approved parts (listed below) are free to be transported anywhere statewide.
- Also remember, only Approved Parts can be transported into Tennessee from another state.
Approved Parts (low risk of spreading CWD)
- De-boned meat
- Cleaned (free of meat and tissues) skulls/skull plates & teeth
- Hides & tanned products
- Antlers- including those attached to clean skull plates
Examples of unapproved parts (high risk of spreading CWD)
- Whole and field-dressed carcasses
- Uncleaned (meat and/or tissue are present) heads/skulls/skull caps
- Non-muscle tissues
If you harvest a deer, elk or moose from anywhere outside the state, it must be properly processed before bringing it back into the state of Tennessee)
No person may import, transport, or possess in Tennessee a cervid carcass or carcass part from anywhere outside state except as provided herein:
(a) Meat that has bones removed.
(b) Antlers, antlers attached to cleaned skull plates, or cleaned skulls
(where no meat or tissues are attached to the skull.)
(c) Cleaned teeth.
(d) Finished taxidermy and antler products.
(e) Hides (tanned or green) and tanned products.
Feeding and mineral sites increase contact between deer, thereby increasing the likelihood of the spread of CWD. As a result, the feeding of wildlife is restricted in counties affected by CWD. Currently, there are 10 counties affected by CWD, including high-risk counties where CWD has been detected within ten miles of the county border, and positive counties in which CWD has been detected. High risk counties include: Chester, Crockett, Gibson, Haywood, McNairy, and Shelby. Positive counties include: Fayette, Hardeman, Madison, and Tipton counties.
So, by not feeding wildlife, you are in compliance with the law and helping prevent the spread of CWD.
Grain, salt products, minerals, or other consumable natural and manufactured products may not be placed or put out for wildlife, with the following exceptions. The ban does not apply to feed placed within 100 feet of a residence such as bird feeders, feed placed in a manner not accessible to deer, or feed and minerals as the result of normal agricultural practices. Food plots are still legal in CWD affected counties.