Skip to Main Content

Find COVID-19 Information and Resources
COVID-19 Campus & Financial Aid Information

HBCU Advisory Board

About the Board

Tenn. Code. Ann. § 49-7-217(f) allows for the creation of an advisory board for Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU) Success, which may provide recommendations and guidance to the Commission in the following areas:

  •  Improvement of the identity, visibility, and distinctive capabilities and overall competitiveness of HBCUs;
  • Engagement of the philanthropic, business, government, military, homeland security, and education communities in a dialogue regarding new HBCU programs and initiatives;
  • Improvement of the ability of HBCUs to remain fiscally secure institutions that can assist the state in reaching its educational goals;
  • Elevation of the public awareness of HBCUs; and
  • Encouragement of public-private investments in HBCUs.

The board shall be appointed by the Commission and include representatives of a variety of sectors, including philanthropy, education, business, finance, entrepreneurship, innovation, and private foundations, as well as sitting HBCU presidents. Currently sitting HBCU presidents serve as ex-officio members of the advisory board.

2019-2021 Board Members

Mr. Spruell Driver

Mrs. Laschinski Emerson

Ms. Sandra Long

Dr. Doug Magee

Ms. Deidre Malone

Mr. Damon Rawls

Executive Committee

Dr. Fallon Wilson, Chair

Commissioner Van Turner, Vice Chair

Dr. Sharon Gentry, Secretary

Ex-officio members

Dr. Forrest Harris (American Baptist College)

Dr. Kevin Rome (Fisk University)

Dr. Keith Lindsey (Knoxville College)

Dr. Logan Hampton (Lane College)

Dr. Carol Dean Johnson (LeMoyne Owen College)

Dr. James Hildreth (Meharry Medical College)

Dr. Glenda Baskin Glover (Tennessee State University)

Next Meeting:

Tuesday, October 20, 2020

1:00 pm Central | Agenda

WebEx Conference Call