Skip to Main Content

Find COVID-19 Information and Resources
COVID-19 Campus & Financial Aid Information

Quality Assurance Funding

Tennessee was the first state to utilize quality metrics in state funding; for over 40 years, Quality Assurance Funding (QAF), previously known as Performance Funding, has provided incentives for all public colleges and universities to measure student learning and institutional effectiveness as part of the continuous improvement process.  Institutions may earn an additional 5.45 percent over operating budgets based on performance on metrics particular to their sector and aligned to the Tennessee Higher Education Master Plan.  Quality Assurance Funding standards are evaluated every five years to ensure alignment with the public agenda and state high education priorities. The QAF Advisory Committee is comprised of governing board and institutional leadership collaborating with THEC staff to revise the standards that are then approved by the Commission.

Quality Assurance Funding One Pager (PDF)


Betty Dandridge Johnson
Chief Academic Officer
(615) 741-7573
betty.dandridge.johnson@tn.gov

Julie Roberts
Associate Chief Academic Officer
(615) 532-6315
julie.a.roberts@tn.gov

Victoria Harpool
Senior Director for Academic Affairs and Strategic Alignment
(615) 741-0745
victoria.harpool@tn.gov

Lauren Collier
Director of Academic Affairs
(615) 532-9523
lauren.collier@tn.gov

Corey Gheesling
Director of Academic Affairs
(615) 253-7474
corey.gheesling@tn.gov

Jeffery Norfleet
Director of Academic Affairs
(615) 532-6329
jeffery.norfleet@tn.gov

Brittany Mosby
Director, HBCU Success
(615) 253-8874
brittany.mosby@tn.gov