Skip to Main Content

Find COVID-19 Information and Resources

Signal and Lighting Design Section

James K. Polk Building, Suite 1800
505 Deaderick Street
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: 615-741-2466
Fax: 615-253-5462

Steve Bryan, PE, PTOE
Section Manager
Phone: 615-741-2152
Email: Steve.Bryan@tn.gov

Stanley Trice
Section Supervisor
Phone: 615-741-2106
Email: Stanley.Trice@tn.gov

Signal Design

The Signal Design Section assists the State Traffic Engineer in the development of traffic signals, roadway lighting and signing & marking plans, both as stand-alone projects and in support of larger roadway design projects administered by TDOT.

TDOT does not typically own, operate or maintain traffic signal devices or street lighting installed under Departmental projects or located along state highways. Ownership, along with responsibility for operation and maintenance, reverts to the local governing agency executing either the Right-of-Way agreement or other funding contracts as provided by the Department.

Street Lighting

Installation and maintenance of street lighting along state highways is the responsibility of the local governing agency. Those agencies desiring to install street lighting must submit street lighting photometric data to the department and obtain a utility permit.

Helpful Links
For more information on obtaining utility permits, visit the Right-of-Way Division Utility Office page on the TDOT website.
For more information on minimum requirements for street lighting, see chapter 15 of the Traffic Design Manual

Regional Contacts

TDOT Regions 1 & 2

Kevin Counts
Transportation Project Specialist Sr.
Phone: 615-532-2918
Email: Kevin.Counts@tn.gov

Cam Morris
Transportation Project Specialist Sr.
Phone: 615-770-1778
Email: Cam.Morris@tn.gov

TDOT Regions 3 & 4

Amin Salman
Transportation Project Specialist Sr.
Phone: 615-253-4833
Email: Amin.Salman@tn.gov

Mike Towles
Transportation Project Specialist Sr.
Phone: 615-741-3010
Email: Michael.Towles@tn.gov