Skip to Main Content

SEE NEW POST-WAYFAIR GUIDANCE FOR SALES TAX COLLECTION FROM OUT-OF-STATE DEALERS HERE

Lien Notation

Effective July 1, 2019, Tennessee law requires that county clerks, rather than the Department of Revenue, perform all notations of liens and extensions of mortgages on certificates of title. The Department will continue to process applications for the notation of a second lien on a certificate of title.

Here are the steps for completing the  Application for Noting of Lien form.   

  1. Send the completed form.
  2. Include all necessary support documentation.  This documentation should include a copy of the lien instrument and the owner's Tennessee certificate of title (if no lien exists).  An application for a duplicate title is not considered to be acceptable support documentation.  
  3. Include all fees.
    • Lien notation fee:  $11 per lien
    • County clerk fee:  $5.50
    • State title fee:  $5.50
    • Additional county fees may also apply.  Please check with your local county clerk's office for more information.
  4. Information should be submitted to your local county clerk's office.  

The requirements for noting a second lien are the same as above, except the certificate of title is not necessary.  The name and address of the lienholder must be shown on the form in the space called "second lienholder."  A conditional sales contract is not acceptable as a lien instrument, unless it is previously recorded and merely being assigned.