Professional Privilege Tax is Due June 1
NASHVILLE - The Department of Revenue would like to remind professionals subject to the professional privilege tax that the tax must be filed and paid by June 1.
The $400 professional privilege tax is an annual tax imposed on certain professionals who hold an active Tennessee license or registration on the June 1 due date, regardless of whether the person practices his or her profession in Tennessee. Professionals who are subject to the tax may file and pay it online at https://apps.tn.gov/privtx/. The following professionals are subject to the professional privilege tax:
- investment advisors
- landscape architects
- osteopathic physicians
- real estate principal brokers
- securities agents
- speech pathologists
- sports agents
The Department is happy to answer taxpayer questions. The Department encourages taxpayers use a new online help application, Revenue Help, at https://revenue.support.tn.gov/hc/en-us . This application allows taxpayers to search and find answers to their questions, or submit requests to the Department electronically. Taxpayers may also contact the Department at 615-253-0600 (Nashville and outside Tennessee) or toll-free at (800) 342-1003 during the business week from 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Central Time.
The Department of Revenue is responsible for the administration of state tax laws and motor vehicle title and registration laws and the collection of taxes and fees associated with those laws. The Department collects about 87 percent of total state revenue. During the 2014 fiscal year, it collected $11.8 billion in state taxes and fees and more than $2.3 billion in taxes and fees for local governments.