New Robertson County Driver License Station Opens

Monday, January 01, 2007 | 06:00pm

NASHVILLE, Tenn., — The Department of Safety has opened a new Driver License Station at 4676 Highway 41 North, Suite C, in Springfield . The station is the sixth new driver license station to open in Tennessee this year to provide more convenient service to citizens across the state. The other stations are in Fayette, Fentress, Hamilton , Obion, Rutherford and Shelby Counties .

Interim Department of Safety Commissioner Gerald Nicely said, “The station in Robertson County , along with the new station in Rutherford County , should make driver license services more accessible for many people in the mid-state region. We’re glad to provide these resources to people in the area. Our long-term goal is to see that every Tennessean is no more than 30 minutes or 30 miles from a driver license station.”

The new Robertson County station will be open Monday through Friday, from 8:30am-5:00pm. New stations in Obion and Shelby Counties opened earlier this month. Stations in Rutherford, Fayette and Fentress Counties opened in October and November. Locations for the seven new driver license stations were selected based on regional growth and/or distance from an existing station.

Department of Safety officials expect the Robertson County facility on Highway 41 North to be active for a year to 18 months, while a permanent facility is built. Once it is complete, it will house not only driver license services, but also the county office of the Highway Patrol.

The Tennessee Department of Safety ( ) is responsible for ensuring the safety and general welfare of the traveling public. The department’s general areas of responsibility include law enforcement, safety education and motorist services including the issuance of driver licenses. The department and its highly trained staff of Troopers are responsible for safety on more than 15,000 miles of state and federal highways.

Press Releases | Safety & Homeland Security