Skip to Main Content

UPDATED ADVISORY CONCERNING ELECTRONIC CIGARETTES, THE PRACTICE OF “VAPING,” “JUULING” AND USE OF OTHER ELECTRONIC NICOTINE DELIVERY SYSTEMS OR ENDS
Tennessee WIC Operations in the Event of a Federal Government Shutdown

Tennessee Sports Concussion Law

In April 2013, Tennessee became the 44th state to pass a sports concussion law designed to reduce youth sports concussions and increase awareness of traumatic brain injury.

The legislation, Public Chapter 148 and Public Chapter 948 has three key components:

  • To inform and educate coaches, youth athletes and their parents and require them to sign a concussion information form before competing.

  • To require removal of a youth athlete who appears to have suffered a concussion from play or practice at the time of the suspected concussion.

  • To require a youth athlete to be cleared by a licensed health care provider* before returning to play or practice.

    * “Health care provider” means a Tennessee licensed medical doctor, osteopathic physician, clinical neuropsychologist with concussion training, or physician assistant with concussion training who is a member of a health care team supervised by a Tennessee licensed medical doctor or osteopathic physician. 

Below you will find links for the required forms, trainings and guidelines that will equip coaches, parents and athletes to recognize and respond to sports related concussion.

Sample Policy

Parent Athlete Signature Form

Coach Signature Form

Concussion Checklist

CDC Heads Up App

Return to Learn/Return to Play: Concussion Management Guidelines

Training Resources

The following trainings have been approved by the Department of Health as a "concussion recognition and head injury safety education course." Completion of one of the trainings on an annual basis fulfills the requirement of training for all coaches and athletic directors as required by the Tennessee Youth Sports Concussion Law.

www.cdc.gov/concussion/Headsup/training/index.html

www.nfhslearn.com/electiveDetail.aspx?courseID=38000

www.nays.org/additional-training/preview/concussion-training.cfm

http://www.concussionwise.com/Tennessee 
The cost for this course is $5 and includes: a printable certificate and wallet card; inclusion in the searchable ConcussionWise Coaches Registry; access to course content for one year; and an automatic email reminder at renewal time.

http://usafootball.com

The cost to complete certification with USA Football will range between $5 and $25 depending on your program's engagement level with their Heads up Football Program.

Return to Learn/Return to Play: Concussion Management Guidelines

 Return to Learn/Return to Play ​Guidlines

Additional Sports Safety Recognition

The Safe Stars initiative recognizes youth sports leagues throughout Tennessee for providing the highest level of safety for their young athletes. Safe Stars consists of 3 levels: gold, silver, and bronze, and involves implementation of policies around topics such as concussion education, weather safety and injury prevention. For more information about Safe Stars go to: https://tn.gov/health/health-program-areas/fhw/vipp/safe-stars-initiative

For additional resources on Concussion:

 Concussion Resources (8/17)