Information for Consumers
What is the Law?
Under this new law, smoking is prohibited in all enclosed public places within the State of Tennessee with a few exceptions. The smoking ban applies, but is not limited to:
- Public and private educational facilities
- Health care facilities
- Hotels and motels
- Retail stores and shopping malls
- Sports arenas, including enclosed public areas in outdoor arenas
- Restrooms, lobbies, reception areas, hallways and other common-use areas
- Lobbies, hallways and other common areas in apartment buildings and other multiple-unit residential facilities
- Child care and adult day care facilities
To review the law, go to http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/105/pub/pc0410.pdf
What does it mean to me?
Beginning October 1, many places where you dine, shop or visit will be smoke free. These establishments should have a visible "No Smoking" sign or the Universal No Smoking Symbol posted prominently outside their door. There are a handful of establishments or areas that the law provides for owners and operators to continue to allow smoking. Examples include bars that only serve people 21 years of age and older; some non-enclosed areas of public places, including open air patios, porches or decks; smoking rooms in hotels and motels; and private clubs. For more information about exemptions, please click here to view our frequently asked questions.
Individuals may also receive personal penalties if they knowingly smoke in area where smoking is prohibited. If this occurs the person is subject to a civil penalty of $50.
How do I report a violation?
There are two ways to file a complaint or report a violation of the Non Smokers Protection Act.
- Call: 1-800-293-8228
- Mail information to the Tennessee Department of Health, Office of Environmental Health, 425 5th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37243 or the Department of Labor and Workforce Development, Office of General Counsel, 220 French Landing Drive, Nashville, TN 37243