Emergency Medical Services

About the EMS Board

Featured Topics

IMPORTANT: Recognition of EMS Personnel Licensure Interstate CompAct (REPLICA)

The Nation’s first EMS Compact of which Tennessee was one of the first ten states to join announces date for first official meeting where the interstate commission with be seated.  Please read the press release for more information.  REPLICA has been signed into legislation in 11 states and the first official meeting  of the commission will be held October 7-8, 2017 in Oklahoma City, OK.

The notice of public hearing for the proposed rule has been released.  The purpose of the proposed rule is to establish a rulemaking process of the Interstate Commission for EMS Personnel Practice that substantially conforms to the principles of the model state administrative procedure act of 2010 and subsequent amendments thereto.

Ambulance Equipment Specifications Effective  July 1 2017
Paramedic Pediatric Medication Errors and High Reliability Solutions
Paramedic Pediatric Medication Errors and High Reliability Solutions Abstract
Board Approved Continuing Education Hours
IMPORTANT: AEMT Transition Course for EMT IV
Background Checks Required for Those Providing Patient Care
Filing Complaints
Online License Renewal

General Informationemergency services board meeting

The Emergency Medical Services Board consists of 13 board members who are appointed by the Governor:

  • Two physicians,
  • One registered nurse,
  • One hospital administrator,
  • One member licensed as an EMT, EMT-P, registered nurse, or physician (who is affiliated with a volunteer ambulance service),
  • Two operators of ambulance services (licensed as an EMT or EMT-P),
  • One rescue squad member (licensed as an EMT or EMT-P),
  • One professional firefighter (licensed as an EMT-Paramedic),
  • One member affiliated with emergency management (licensed as an EMT or EMT-P),
  • Two officials of local governments that operate ambulance services, and
  • One paramedic instructor from an accredited paramedic program in Tennessee.

Four members are appointed from each of the state's three grand divisions, as well as one at-large member. Members are appointed for a term of four years, with the Board chair elected from among the members of the board. A quorum is seven members.

The Board is empowered to approve schools and prescribe courses for EMS personnel, promulgate regulations governing licenses and permits, and establish standards for the activities and operation of emergency medical and ambulance services. The Board conducts hearings to review and decide disciplinary matters presented by the Department and may suspend, revoke or otherwise discipline any authorization required for emergency medical personnel and ambulance services.