Efficiency in Handgun Permitting Act
The Efficiency in Handgun Permitting Act changes the current Tennessee handgun permit statute to make obtaining a permit more customer friendly without harming the integrity of the process.
Why is the Efficiency in Handgun Permitting Act needed?
Governor Haslam’s goal for state government is to provide the best possible service at the lowest possible cost for taxpayers. A number of services throughout state government have been streamlined over the last several years, and the governor has identified another area where we can improve the customer experience.
The Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security manages the process for obtaining a handgun carry permit and uses permit fees to fund the cost of administering the program. This legislation improves the process for gun owners and lowers the fee associated with obtaining a handgun carry permit.
What are the key components of the Efficiency in Handgun Permitting Act?
- Extends the current five-year handgun carry permit to eight years.
- Lowers the price of an initial handgun permit fee from $115 to $100.
- Extends the renewal cycle from six months to eight years after the expiration of a permit before a person would have to reapply as a new applicant and be subject to the same fees and training requirements as first-time applicants.
- Makes a certificate issued by a handgun safety school valid for one year instead of the current six-month period. The certificate indicates that an applicant has completed the necessary handgun training to obtain a permit, and this change would provide additional time from the completion of the course to apply for a handgun permit.
- Conducts a name-based background check in the fourth year of the eight year permit without charge.
- Adds the issuance date to the face of the permit card. Currently, only the expiration date is listed.
- Gives a member of the armed forces, whose permit does not expire while deployed until two months after their return to Tennessee, the same eight-year period after expiration that a civilian has to renew a permit before having to reapply as a new applicant.