Skip to Main Content

Brownfield Voluntary Cleanup Oversight and Assistance Program

The United States Protection Agency defines Brownfields as real property, the expansion, redevelopment, or reuse of which may be complicated by the presence or potential presence of a hazardous substance, pollutant, or contaminant.    

If this describes your property, a property that you are interested in purchasing or just using, we would be happy to answer any questions or concerns that you may have.  TDEC’s Brownfield Voluntary Cleanup Oversight and Assistance Program (VOAP) is a voluntary program that is in place to help you to address, develop, or redevelop a piece of property that could be, or is impacted by contamination.  Whether the contamination was caused by you or not, we are here to help, and look forward to working with you.

Contacts
VOAP Coordinator Evan Spann 615-532-0919 Evan.W.Spann@tn.gov
West TN Regional Coordinator Merrie Embry 901-371-3151 Merrie.Embry@tn.gov
Middle TN Regional Coordinator Rebecca Shoffeitt 615-687-7063 Rebecca.Shoffeitt@tn.gov
East TN Regional Coordinator (Knoxville) Erin F. Sutton 865-594-5480 Erin.F.Sutton@tn.gov
East TN Regional Coordinator (Chattanooga) Troy Keith 423-634-5755 Troy.Keith@tn.gov
Grants Assistance Paula Middlebrooks 615-532-0926 Paula.Middlebrooks@tn.gov